Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

720 ILCS 5/16-28

    (720 ILCS 5/16-28)
    Sec. 16-28. Delivery container theft.
    (a) A person commits delivery container theft when he or she knowingly does any of the following:
        (1) Uses for any purpose, when not on the premises of
the owner or an adjacent parking area, a delivery container of another person which is marked by a name or mark unless the use is authorized by the owner.
        (2) Sells, or offers for sale, a delivery container
of another person which is marked by a name or mark unless the sale is authorized by the owner.
        (3) Defaces, obliterates, destroys, covers up or
otherwise removes or conceals a name or mark on a delivery container of another person without the written consent of the owner.
        (4) Removes the delivery container of another person
from the premises, parking area or any other area under the control of any processor, distributor or retail establishment, or from any delivery vehicle, without the consent of the owner of the delivery container. If a person possesses any marked or named delivery container without the consent of the owner and while not on the premises, parking area or other area under control of a processor, distributor or retail establishment doing business with the owner, the trier of fact may infer that the person removed the delivery container in violation of this paragraph.
    (b) Any common carrier or private carrier for hire, except those engaged in transporting bakery or dairy products to and from the places where they are produced, that receives or transports any delivery container marked with a name or mark without having in its possession a bill of lading or invoice for that delivery container commits the offense of delivery container theft.
    (c) Sentence. Delivery container theft is a Class B misdemeanor. An offender may be sentenced to pay a fine of $150 for the first offense and $500 for a second or subsequent offense.
(Source: P.A. 97-597, eff. 1-1-12.)