Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

625 ILCS 5/3-815

    (625 ILCS 5/3-815) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-815)
    (Text of Section from P.A. 100-734)
    Sec. 3-815. Flat weight tax; vehicles of the second division.
    (a) Except as provided in Section 3-806.3 and 3-804.3, every owner of a vehicle of the second division registered under Section 3-813, and not registered under the mileage weight tax under Section 3-818, shall pay to the Secretary of State, for each registration year, for the use of the public highways, a flat weight tax at the rates set forth in the following table, the rates including the $10 registration fee:
SCHEDULE OF FLAT WEIGHT TAX
REQUIRED BY LAW
Gross Weight in Lbs.Total Fees
Including Vehicle each Fiscal
and Maximum LoadClass year
8,000 lbs. and lessB$98
8,001 lbs. to 12,000 lbs.D138
12,001 lbs. to 16,000 lbs.F242
16,001 lbs. to 26,000 lbs.H490
26,001 lbs. to 28,000 lbs.J630
28,001 lbs. to 32,000 lbs.K842
32,001 lbs. to 36,000 lbs.L982
36,001 lbs. to 40,000 lbs.N1,202
40,001 lbs. to 45,000 lbs.P1,390
45,001 lbs. to 50,000 lbs.Q1,538
50,001 lbs. to 54,999 lbs.R1,698
55,000 lbs. to 59,500 lbs.S1,830
59,501 lbs. to 64,000 lbs.T1,970
64,001 lbs. to 73,280 lbs.V2,294
73,281 lbs. to 77,000 lbs.X2,622
77,001 lbs. to 80,000 lbs.Z2,790
    Beginning with the 2010 registration year a $1 surcharge shall be collected for vehicles registered in the 8,000 lbs. and less flat weight plate category above to be deposited into the State Police Vehicle Fund.
    Beginning with the 2014 registration year, a $2 surcharge shall be collected in addition to the above fees for vehicles registered in the 8,000 lb. and less flat weight plate category as described in this subsection (a) to be deposited into the Park and Conservation Fund for the Department of Natural Resources to use for conservation efforts. The monies deposited into the Park and Conservation Fund under this Section shall not be subject to administrative charges or chargebacks unless otherwise authorized by this Act.
    All of the proceeds of the additional fees imposed by this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly shall be deposited into the Capital Projects Fund.
    (a-1) A Special Hauling Vehicle is a vehicle or combination of vehicles of the second division registered under Section 3-813 transporting asphalt or concrete in the plastic state or a vehicle or combination of vehicles that are subject to the gross weight limitations in subsection (a) of Section 15-111 for which the owner of the vehicle or combination of vehicles has elected to pay, in addition to the registration fee in subsection (a), $125 to the Secretary of State for each registration year. The Secretary shall designate this class of vehicle as a Special Hauling Vehicle.
    (a-5) Beginning January 1, 2015, upon the request of the vehicle owner, a $10 surcharge shall be collected in addition to the above fees for vehicles in the 12,000 lbs. and less flat weight plate categories as described in subsection (a) to be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund. The $10 surcharge is to identify vehicles in the 12,000 lbs. and less flat weight plate categories as a covered farm vehicle. The $10 surcharge is an annual, flat fee that shall be based on an applicant's new or existing registration year for each vehicle in the 12,000 lbs. and less flat weight plate categories. A designation as a covered farm vehicle under this subsection (a-5) shall not alter a vehicle's registration as a registration in the 12,000 lbs. or less flat weight category. The Secretary shall adopt any rules necessary to implement this subsection (a-5).
    (a-10) Beginning January 1, 2019, upon the request of the vehicle owner, the Secretary of State shall collect a $10 surcharge in addition to the fees for second division vehicles in the 8,000 lbs. and less flat weight plate category described in subsection (a) that are issued a registration plate under Article VI of this Chapter. The $10 surcharge shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund. The $10 surcharge is to identify a vehicle in the 8,000 lbs. and less flat weight plate category as a covered farm vehicle. The $10 surcharge is an annual, flat fee that shall be based on an applicant's new or existing registration year for each vehicle in the 8,000 lbs. and less flat weight plate category. A designation as a covered farm vehicle under this subsection (a-10) shall not alter a vehicle's registration in the 8,000 lbs. or less flat weight category. The Secretary shall adopt any rules necessary to implement this subsection (a-10).
    (b) Except as provided in Section 3-806.3, every camping trailer, motor home, mini motor home, travel trailer, truck camper or van camper used primarily for recreational purposes, and not used commercially, nor for hire, nor owned by a commercial business, may be registered for each registration year upon the filing of a proper application and the payment of a registration fee and highway use tax, according to the following table of fees:
MOTOR HOME, MINI MOTOR HOME, TRUCK CAMPER OR VAN CAMPER
Gross Weight in Lbs.Total Fees
Including Vehicle andEach
Maximum LoadCalendar Year
8,000 lbs and less$78
8,001 Lbs. to 10,000 Lbs90
10,001 Lbs. and Over102
CAMPING TRAILER OR TRAVEL TRAILER
Gross Weight in Lbs.Total Fees
Including Vehicle andEach
Maximum LoadCalendar Year
3,000 Lbs. and Less$18
3,001 Lbs. to 8,000 Lbs.30
8,001 Lbs. to 10,000 Lbs.38
10,001 Lbs. and Over50
    Every house trailer must be registered under Section 3-819.
    (c) Farm Truck. Any truck used exclusively for the owner's own agricultural, horticultural or livestock raising operations and not-for-hire only, or any truck used only in the transportation for-hire of seasonal, fresh, perishable fruit or vegetables from farm to the point of first processing, may be registered by the owner under this paragraph in lieu of registration under paragraph (a), upon filing of a proper application and the payment of the $10 registration fee and the highway use tax herein specified as follows:
SCHEDULE OF FEES AND TAXES
Gross Weight in Lbs.Total Amount for
Including Truck andeach
Maximum LoadClassFiscal Year
16,000 lbs. or lessVF$150
16,001 to 20,000 lbs.VG226
20,001 to 24,000 lbs.VH290
24,001 to 28,000 lbs.VJ378
28,001 to 32,000 lbs.VK506
32,001 to 36,000 lbs.VL610
36,001 to 45,000 lbs.VP810
45,001 to 54,999 lbs.VR1,026
55,000 to 64,000 lbs.VT1,202
64,001 to 73,280 lbs.VV1,290
73,281 to 77,000 lbs.VX1,350
77,001 to 80,000 lbs.VZ1,490
    In the event the Secretary of State revokes a farm truck registration as authorized by law, the owner shall pay the flat weight tax due hereunder before operating such truck.
    Any combination of vehicles having 5 axles, with a distance of 42 feet or less between extreme axles, that are subject to the weight limitations in subsection (a) of Section 15-111 for which the owner of the combination of vehicles has elected to pay, in addition to the registration fee in subsection (c), $125 to the Secretary of State for each registration year shall be designated by the Secretary as a Special Hauling Vehicle.
    (d) The number of axles necessary to carry the maximum load provided shall be determined from Chapter 15 of this Code.
    (e) An owner may only apply for and receive 5 farm truck registrations, and only 2 of those 5 vehicles shall exceed 59,500 gross weight in pounds per vehicle.
    (f) Every person convicted of violating this Section by failure to pay the appropriate flat weight tax to the Secretary of State as set forth in the above tables shall be punished as provided for in Section 3-401.
(Source: P.A. 100-734, eff. 1-1-19.)
 
    (Text of Section from P.A. 100-956)
    Sec. 3-815. Flat weight tax; vehicles of the second division.
    (a) Except as provided in Section 3-806.3 and 3-804.3, every owner of a vehicle of the second division registered under Section 3-813, and not registered under the mileage weight tax under Section 3-818, shall pay to the Secretary of State, for each registration year, for the use of the public highways, a flat weight tax at the rates set forth in the following table, the rates including the $10 registration fee:
SCHEDULE OF FLAT WEIGHT TAX
REQUIRED BY LAW
Gross Weight in Lbs.Total Fees
Including Vehicle each Fiscal
and Maximum LoadClass year
8,000 lbs. and lessB$98
8,001 lbs. to 10,000 lbs. C 118
10,001 lbs. to 12,000 lbs.D138
12,001 lbs. to 16,000 lbs.F242
16,001 lbs. to 26,000 lbs.H490
26,001 lbs. to 28,000 lbs.J630
28,001 lbs. to 32,000 lbs.K842
32,001 lbs. to 36,000 lbs.L982
36,001 lbs. to 40,000 lbs.N1,202
40,001 lbs. to 45,000 lbs.P1,390
45,001 lbs. to 50,000 lbs.Q1,538
50,001 lbs. to 54,999 lbs.R1,698
55,000 lbs. to 59,500 lbs.S1,830
59,501 lbs. to 64,000 lbs.T1,970
64,001 lbs. to 73,280 lbs.V2,294
73,281 lbs. to 77,000 lbs.X2,622
77,001 lbs. to 80,000 lbs.Z2,790
    Beginning with the 2010 registration year a $1 surcharge shall be collected for vehicles registered in the 8,000 lbs. and less flat weight plate category above to be deposited into the State Police Vehicle Fund.
    Beginning with the 2014 registration year, a $2 surcharge shall be collected in addition to the above fees for vehicles registered in the 8,000 lb. and less flat weight plate category as described in this subsection (a) to be deposited into the Park and Conservation Fund for the Department of Natural Resources to use for conservation efforts. The monies deposited into the Park and Conservation Fund under this Section shall not be subject to administrative charges or chargebacks unless otherwise authorized by this Act.
    All of the proceeds of the additional fees imposed by this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly shall be deposited into the Capital Projects Fund.
    (a-1) A Special Hauling Vehicle is a vehicle or combination of vehicles of the second division registered under Section 3-813 transporting asphalt or concrete in the plastic state or a vehicle or combination of vehicles that are subject to the gross weight limitations in subsection (a) of Section 15-111 for which the owner of the vehicle or combination of vehicles has elected to pay, in addition to the registration fee in subsection (a), $125 to the Secretary of State for each registration year. The Secretary shall designate this class of vehicle as a Special Hauling Vehicle.
    (a-5) Beginning January 1, 2015, upon the request of the vehicle owner, a $10 surcharge shall be collected in addition to the above fees for vehicles in the 12,000 lbs. and less flat weight plate categories as described in subsection (a) to be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund. The $10 surcharge is to identify vehicles in the 12,000 lbs. and less flat weight plate categories as a covered farm vehicle. The $10 surcharge is an annual, flat fee that shall be based on an applicant's new or existing registration year for each vehicle in the 12,000 lbs. and less flat weight plate categories. A designation as a covered farm vehicle under this subsection (a-5) shall not alter a vehicle's registration as a registration in the 12,000 lbs. or less flat weight category. The Secretary shall adopt any rules necessary to implement this subsection (a-5).
    (b) Except as provided in Section 3-806.3, every camping trailer, motor home, mini motor home, travel trailer, truck camper or van camper used primarily for recreational purposes, and not used commercially, nor for hire, nor owned by a commercial business, may be registered for each registration year upon the filing of a proper application and the payment of a registration fee and highway use tax, according to the following table of fees:
MOTOR HOME, MINI MOTOR HOME, TRUCK CAMPER OR VAN CAMPER
Gross Weight in Lbs.Total Fees
Including Vehicle andEach
Maximum LoadCalendar Year
8,000 lbs and less$78
8,001 Lbs. to 10,000 Lbs90
10,001 Lbs. and Over102
CAMPING TRAILER OR TRAVEL TRAILER
Gross Weight in Lbs.Total Fees
Including Vehicle andEach
Maximum LoadCalendar Year
3,000 Lbs. and Less$18
3,001 Lbs. to 8,000 Lbs.30
8,001 Lbs. to 10,000 Lbs.38
10,001 Lbs. and Over50
    Every house trailer must be registered under Section 3-819.
    (c) Farm Truck. Any truck used exclusively for the owner's own agricultural, horticultural or livestock raising operations and not-for-hire only, or any truck used only in the transportation for-hire of seasonal, fresh, perishable fruit or vegetables from farm to the point of first processing, may be registered by the owner under this paragraph in lieu of registration under paragraph (a), upon filing of a proper application and the payment of the $10 registration fee and the highway use tax herein specified as follows:
SCHEDULE OF FEES AND TAXES
Gross Weight in Lbs.Total Amount for
Including Truck andeach
Maximum LoadClassFiscal Year
16,000 lbs. or lessVF$150
16,001 to 20,000 lbs.VG226
20,001 to 24,000 lbs.VH290
24,001 to 28,000 lbs.VJ378
28,001 to 32,000 lbs.VK506
32,001 to 36,000 lbs.VL610
36,001 to 45,000 lbs.VP810
45,001 to 54,999 lbs.VR1,026
55,000 to 64,000 lbs.VT1,202
64,001 to 73,280 lbs.VV1,290
73,281 to 77,000 lbs.VX1,350
77,001 to 80,000 lbs.VZ1,490
    In the event the Secretary of State revokes a farm truck registration as authorized by law, the owner shall pay the flat weight tax due hereunder before operating such truck.
    Any combination of vehicles having 5 axles, with a distance of 42 feet or less between extreme axles, that are subject to the weight limitations in subsection (a) of Section 15-111 for which the owner of the combination of vehicles has elected to pay, in addition to the registration fee in subsection (c), $125 to the Secretary of State for each registration year shall be designated by the Secretary as a Special Hauling Vehicle.
    (d) The number of axles necessary to carry the maximum load provided shall be determined from Chapter 15 of this Code.
    (e) An owner may only apply for and receive 5 farm truck registrations, and only 2 of those 5 vehicles shall exceed 59,500 gross weight in pounds per vehicle.
    (f) Every person convicted of violating this Section by failure to pay the appropriate flat weight tax to the Secretary of State as set forth in the above tables shall be punished as provided for in Section 3-401.
(Source: P.A. 100-956, eff. 1-1-19.)