Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

625 ILCS 5/18b-108

    (625 ILCS 5/18b-108) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18b-108)
    Sec. 18b-108. Violations; criminal penalties.
    (a) The provisions of Chapter 16 shall be applicable to acts committed by a driver of a motor vehicle that violate this Chapter or any rule or regulation issued under this Chapter.
    (b) Except as provided in subsection (d), any driver who willfully violates any provision of this Chapter or any rule or regulation issued under this Chapter is guilty of a Class 4 felony. In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law, the maximum fine for each offense is $10,000. Such violation shall be prosecuted by the State's Attorney or the Attorney General.
    (c) Except as provided in subsection (d), any person, other than a driver, who willfully violates or causes another to violate any provision of this Chapter or any rule or regulation issued under this Chapter is guilty of a Class 3 felony. In addition to any other penalties prescribed by law, the maximum fine for each offense is $25,000. Such violation shall be prosecuted at the request of the Department by the State's Attorney or the Attorney General.
    (d) Any driver who willfully violates Parts 392, 395, Sections 391.11, 391.15, 391.41, or 391.45 of Part 391, or any other Part of Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations, as adopted by reference in Section 18b-105 of this Code, which would place the driver or vehicle out of service, when the violation results in a motor vehicle accident that causes great bodily harm, permanent disability or disfigurement, or death to another person, is guilty of a Class 3 felony. Any person other than the driver who willfully violates Parts 392, 395, Sections 391.11, 391.15, 391.41, or 391.45 of Part 391 or any other Part of Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations, as adopted by reference in Section 18b-105 of this Code, which would place the driver or vehicle out of service, when the violation results in a motor vehicle accident that causes great bodily harm, permanent disability or disfigurement, or death to another person, is guilty of a Class 2 felony.
(Source: P.A. 99-291, eff. 1-1-16.)