Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
625 ILCS 5/11-406
(625 ILCS 5/11-406)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 11-406)
Duty to report accident.
(a) The driver of a vehicle that is in any manner involved in an
accident within this State, resulting in injury to or death of any
person, or in which damage to the property of any one person, including
himself, in excess of $1,500 (or $500 if any of the vehicles involved in the accident is subject to Section 7-601 but is not covered by a liability insurance policy in accordance with Section 7-601) is sustained, shall, as soon as possible but
not later than 10 days after the accident, forward a written report of
the accident to the Administrator.
(b) Whenever a school bus is involved in an accident in this State,
caused by a collision, a sudden stop or otherwise, resulting in any
property damage, personal injury or death and whenever an accident
occurs within 50 feet of a school bus in this State resulting in
personal injury to or the death of any person while awaiting or
preparing to board the bus or immediately after exiting the bus, the
driver shall as soon as possible but not later than 10 days after the
accident, forward a written report to the Department of Transportation.
If a report is also required under Subsection (a) of this Section, that
report and the report required by this Subsection shall be submitted on
a single form.
(c) The Administrator may require any driver, occupant or owner of a
vehicle involved in an accident of which report must be made as provided
in this Section or Section 11-410 of this Chapter to file supplemental
reports whenever the original report is insufficient in the opinion of
the Secretary of State or the Administrator, and may require witnesses
of the accident to submit written reports to the Administrator. The
report may include photographs, charts, sketches, and graphs.
(d) Should the Administrator learn through other reports of
accidents required by law of the occurrence of an accident reportable
under this Article and the driver, owner, or witness has not reported as
required under Subsections (a), (b) or (c) of this Section or Section
11-410, within the time specified, the person is not relieved of the
responsibility and the Administrator shall notify the person by first
class mail directed to his last known address of his legal obligation.
However, the notification is not a condition precedent to impose the
penalty for failure to report as provided in Subsection (e).
(e) The Secretary of State shall suspend the driver's license or any
non-resident's driving privilege of any person who fails or neglects to
make report of a traffic accident as required or as required by
any other law of this State.
(Source: P.A. 95-754, eff. 1-1-09.)