Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
520 ILCS 5/3.3
(520 ILCS 5/3.3)
(from Ch. 61, par. 3.3)
Trapping license required.
Before any person shall trap any
of the mammals protected
by this Act, for which an open trapping season has been established, he shall
first procure a trapping license from the Department to do so. No traps
shall be placed in the field, set or unset, prior to the opening day of
the trapping season.
Traps used in the taking of such mammals shall be marked or
tagged with metal tags or inscribed in lettering giving the name and
address of the owner or the customer identification number issued by the Department, and absence of such mark or tag shall be prima
facie evidence that such trap or traps are illegally used and the trap
or traps shall be confiscated and disposed of as directed by the
Before any person 18 years of age or older shall trap, attempt to
trap, or sell the green hides of any mammal of the species defined as
fur-bearing mammals by Section 2.2 for which an open season is established
under this Act, he shall first have procured a State Habitat Stamp.
Beginning January 1, 2016, no trapping license shall be issued to any
person born on or after January 1, 1998 unless he or she presents to the authorized issuer of the license evidence that he or she has a
certificate of competency provided for in this Section.
The Department of Natural Resources shall authorize
personnel of the Department,
or volunteer instructors, found by the Department to be competent,
to provide instruction in courses on trapping techniques and ethical trapping
behavior as needed throughout the State, which courses shall be at least
8 hours in length. Persons so authorized shall provide instruction in such
courses to individuals at no charge, and shall issue to individuals
successfully completing such courses certificates of competency in basic
trapping techniques. The Department shall cooperate in establishing such
courses with any reputable association or organization which has as one of
its objectives the promotion of the ethical use of legal fur harvesting
devices and techniques. The Department shall furnish information on the
requirements of the trapper education program to be distributed free of
charge to applicants for trapping licenses by the persons appointed and
authorized to issue licenses.
The owners residing on, or bona fide tenants of farm lands, and their
children actually residing on such lands, shall have the right to trap
mammals protected by this Act, for which an open trapping season has been
established, upon such lands, without procuring licenses, provided that
such mammals are taken during the periods of time and with such devices as
are permitted by this Act.
(Source: P.A. 100-638, eff. 1-1-19; 100-964, eff. 8-19-18; 101-81, eff. 7-12-19.)