Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
520 ILCS 5/2.36a
(520 ILCS 5/2.36a)
(from Ch. 61, par. 2.36a)
Value of protected species; violations.
(a) Any person who, for profit or commercial purposes, knowingly
captures or kills, possesses, offers for sale, sells, offers to barter,
barters, offers to purchase, purchases, delivers for shipment, ships, exports,
imports, causes to be shipped, exported, or imported, delivers for
transportation, transports or causes to be transported,
carries or causes to be carried, or receives for shipment, transportation,
carriage, or export any animal or part of animal of the species protected
by this Act, contrary to the provisions of this Act, and such animals, in
whole or in part, are valued at or in excess of a total of $300, as per
specified in subsection (c) of this Section, commits a Class 3 felony.
A person shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony if convicted under this
Section for more than one violation within a 90-day period where the animals of
each violation are not valued at or in excess of $300, but the total value of
the animals from the multiple violations is at or in excess of $300. The
prosecution for a Class 4 felony for these multiple violations must be alleged
in a single charge or indictment and brought in a single prosecution.
(b) Possession of animals, in whole or in part, captured or killed in
violation of this Act, valued at or in excess of $600, as per specie value
in subsection (c) of this Section, shall be considered prima facie evidence
of possession for profit or commercial purposes.
(c) For purposes of this Section,
the fair market value or replacement cost, whichever is greater, shall be
used to determine the value of the species protected by this Act, but in no
case shall the minimum value of all species protected by
this Act be less than as follows:
(1) Eagle, $1,000;
(2) Whitetail deer, $1,000 and wild turkey, $500;
(3) Fur-bearing mammals, $50;
(4) Game birds (except the wild turkey) and migratory
game birds (except Trumpeter swans), $50;
(5) Owls, hawks, falcons, kites, harriers, and
ospreys, and other birds of prey, $250;
(6) Game mammals (except whitetail deer), $50;
(7) Other mammals, $100;
(8) Resident and migratory non-game birds (except
(9) Trumpeter swans, $1,000.
(d) In this subsection (d), "point" means a projection on the antler of a whitetail antlered deer that is at least one-inch long as measured from the tip to the nearest edge of antler beam and the length of which exceeds the length of its base. A person who possesses whitetail antlered deer, in whole or in part, captured or killed in violation of this Act, shall pay restitution to the Department in the amount of $1,000 per whitetail antlered deer and an additional $500 per antler point for each whitetail antlered deer with at least 8 but not more than 10 antler points. For whitetail antlered deer with 11 or more antler points, restitution of $1,000 shall be paid to the Department per whitetail antlered deer plus $750 per antler point.
(Source: P.A. 100-960, eff. 8-19-18; 101-81, eff. 7-12-19.)