Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
430 ILCS 65/10
(430 ILCS 65/10)
(from Ch. 38, par. 83-10)
Appeal to director; hearing; relief from firearm prohibitions.
(a) Whenever an application for a Firearm Owner's Identification
Card is denied, whenever the Department fails to act on an application
within 30 days of its receipt, or whenever such a Card is revoked or seized
as provided for in Section 8 of this Act, the aggrieved party may
to the Director of State Police for a hearing upon
such denial, revocation or seizure, unless the denial, revocation, or seizure
was based upon a forcible felony, stalking, aggravated stalking, domestic
battery, any violation of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, or the
Cannabis Control Act that is classified as a Class 2 or greater felony,
felony violation of Article 24 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, or any
adjudication as a delinquent minor for the commission of an
offense that if committed by an adult would be a felony, in which case the
aggrieved party may petition the circuit court in writing in the county of
his or her residence for a hearing upon such denial, revocation, or seizure.
(b) At least 30 days before any hearing in the circuit court, the
petitioner shall serve the
relevant State's Attorney with a copy of the petition. The State's Attorney
may object to the petition and present evidence. At the hearing the court
determine whether substantial justice has been done. Should the court
determine that substantial justice has not been done, the court shall issue an
order directing the Department of State Police to issue a Card. However, the court shall not issue the order if the petitioner is otherwise prohibited from obtaining, possessing, or using a firearm under
(c) Any person prohibited from possessing a firearm under Sections 24-1.1
or 24-3.1 of the Criminal Code of 2012 or acquiring a Firearm Owner's
Identification Card under Section 8 of this Act may apply to
of State Police
or petition the circuit court in the county where the petitioner resides,
whichever is applicable in accordance with subsection (a) of this Section,
from such prohibition and the Director or court may grant such relief if it
established by the applicant to the court's or Director's satisfaction
(0.05) when in the circuit court, the State's
Attorney has been served with a written copy of the petition at least 30 days before any such hearing in the circuit court and at the hearing the State's Attorney was afforded an opportunity to present evidence and object to the petition;
(1) the applicant has not been convicted of a
forcible felony under the laws of this State or any other jurisdiction within 20 years of the applicant's application for a Firearm Owner's Identification Card, or at least 20 years have passed since the end of any period of imprisonment imposed in relation to that conviction;
(2) the circumstances regarding a criminal
conviction, where applicable, the applicant's criminal history and his reputation are such that the applicant will not be likely to act in a manner dangerous to public safety;
(3) granting relief would not be contrary to the
(4) granting relief would not be contrary to federal
(c-5) (1) An active law enforcement officer employed by a unit of government, who is denied, revoked, or has his or her Firearm Owner's Identification Card seized under subsection (e) of Section 8 of this Act may apply to the Director of State Police requesting relief if the officer did not act in a manner threatening to the officer, another person, or the public as determined by the treating clinical psychologist or physician, and as a result of his or her work is referred by the employer for or voluntarily seeks mental health evaluation or treatment by a licensed clinical psychologist, psychiatrist, or qualified examiner, and:
(A) the officer has not received treatment
involuntarily at a mental health facility, regardless of the length of admission; or has not been voluntarily admitted to a mental health facility for more than 30 days and not for more than one incident within the past 5 years; and
(B) the officer has not left the mental institution
(2) The Director of State Police shall grant expedited relief to active law enforcement officers described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (c-5) upon a determination by the Director that the officer's possession of a firearm does not present a threat to themselves, others, or public safety. The Director shall act on the request for relief within 30 business days of receipt of:
(A) a notarized statement from the officer in the
form prescribed by the Director detailing the circumstances that led to the hospitalization;
(B) all documentation regarding the admission,
evaluation, treatment and discharge from the treating licensed clinical psychologist or psychiatrist of the officer;
(C) a psychological fitness for duty evaluation of
the person completed after the time of discharge; and
(D) written confirmation in the form prescribed by
the Director from the treating licensed clinical psychologist or psychiatrist that the provisions set forth in paragraph (1) of this subsection (c-5) have been met, the person successfully completed treatment, and their professional opinion regarding the person's ability to possess firearms.
(3) Officers eligible for the expedited relief in paragraph (2) of this subsection (c-5) have the burden of proof on eligibility and must provide all information required. The Director may not consider granting expedited relief until the proof and information is received.
(4) "Clinical psychologist", "psychiatrist", and "qualified examiner" shall have the same meaning as provided in Chapter I of the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code.
(c-10) (1) An applicant, who is denied, revoked, or has his or her Firearm Owner's Identification Card seized under subsection (e) of Section 8 of this Act based upon a determination of a developmental disability or an intellectual disability may apply to the Director of State Police requesting relief.
(2) The Director shall act on the request for relief within 60 business days of receipt of written certification, in the form prescribed by the Director, from a physician or clinical psychologist, or qualified examiner, that the aggrieved party's developmental disability or intellectual disability condition is determined by a physician, clinical psychologist, or qualified to be mild. If a fact-finding conference is scheduled to obtain additional information concerning the circumstances of the denial or revocation, the 60 business days the Director has to act shall be tolled until the completion of the fact-finding conference.
(3) The Director may grant relief if the aggrieved party's developmental disability or intellectual disability is mild as determined by a physician, clinical psychologist, or qualified examiner and it is established by the applicant to the Director's satisfaction that:
(A) granting relief would not be contrary to the
(B) granting relief would not be contrary to federal
(4) The Director may not grant relief if the condition is determined by a physician, clinical psychologist, or qualified examiner to be moderate, severe, or profound.
(5) The changes made to this Section by this amendatory Act of the 99th General Assembly apply to requests for
relief pending on or before the effective date of this amendatory Act, except that the 60-day period for the Director to act on requests pending before the effective date shall begin
on the effective date of this amendatory Act.
(d) When a minor is adjudicated delinquent for an offense which if
committed by an adult would be a felony, the court shall notify the Department
of State Police.
(e) The court shall review the denial of an application or the revocation of
a Firearm Owner's Identification Card of a person who has been adjudicated
delinquent for an offense that if
committed by an adult would be a felony if an
application for relief has been filed at least 10 years after the adjudication
of delinquency and the court determines that the applicant should be
granted relief from disability to obtain a Firearm Owner's Identification Card.
If the court grants relief, the court shall notify the Department of State
Police that the disability has
been removed and that the applicant is eligible to obtain a Firearm Owner's
(f) Any person who is subject to the disabilities of 18 U.S.C. 922(d)(4) and 922(g)(4) of the federal Gun Control Act of 1968 because of an adjudication or commitment that occurred under the laws of this State or who was determined to be subject to the provisions of subsections (e), (f), or (g) of Section 8 of this Act may apply to the Department of State Police requesting relief from that prohibition. The Director shall grant the relief if it is established by a preponderance of the evidence that the person will not be likely to act in a manner dangerous to public safety and that granting relief would not be contrary to the public interest. In making this determination, the Director shall receive evidence concerning (i) the circumstances regarding the firearms disabilities from which relief is sought; (ii) the petitioner's mental health and criminal history records, if any; (iii) the petitioner's reputation, developed at a minimum through character witness statements, testimony, or other character evidence; and (iv) changes in the petitioner's condition or circumstances since the disqualifying events relevant to the relief sought. If relief is granted under this subsection or by order of a court under this Section, the Director shall as soon as practicable but in no case later than 15 business days, update, correct, modify, or remove the person's record in any database that the Department of State Police makes available to the National Instant Criminal Background Check System and notify the United States Attorney General that the basis for the record being made available no longer applies. The Department of State Police shall adopt rules for the administration of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 98-63, eff. 7-9-13; 99-29, eff. 7-10-15; 99-78, eff. 7-20-15.)