Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
425 ILCS 8/45
(425 ILCS 8/45)
(a) Any manufacturer, wholesale dealer, agent, or other person or entity who knowingly sells cigarettes wholesale in violation of item (3) of subsection (a) of Section 10 of this Act shall be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 for each sale of the cigarettes. Any retail dealer who knowingly sells cigarettes in violation of Section 10 of this Act shall be subject to the following: (i) a civil penalty not to exceed $500 for each sale or offer for sale of cigarettes, provided that the total number of cigarettes sold or offered for sale in such sale does not exceed 1,000 cigarettes; (ii) a civil penalty not to exceed $1,000 for each sale or offer for sale of the cigarettes, provided that the total number of cigarettes sold or offered for sale in such sale exceeds 1,000 cigarettes.
(b) In addition to any penalty prescribed by law, any corporation, partnership, sole proprietor, limited partnership, or association engaged in the manufacture of cigarettes that knowingly makes a false certification pursuant to Section 30 of this Act shall be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 for each false certification.
(c) Upon discovery by the Office of the State Fire Marshal, the Department of Revenue, the Office of the Attorney General, or a law enforcement agency that any person offers, possesses for sale, or has made a sale of cigarettes in violation of Section 10 of this Act, the Office of the State Fire Marshal, the Department of Revenue, the Office of the Attorney General, or the law enforcement agency may seize those cigarettes possessed in violation of this Act.
(d) The Cigarette Fire Safety Standard Act Fund is established as a special fund in the State treasury. The Fund shall consist of all moneys recovered by the Attorney General from the assessment of civil penalties authorized by this Section. The moneys in the Fund shall, in addition to any moneys made available for such purpose, be available, subject to appropriation, to the Office of the State Fire Marshal for the purpose of fire safety and prevention programs.
(e) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, in addition to any other transfers that may be provided by law, on July 1, 2016, or as soon thereafter as practical, the State Comptroller shall direct and the State Treasurer shall transfer the remaining balance from the Cigarette Fire Safety Standard Act Fund into the General Revenue Fund. Upon completion of the transfers, the Cigarette Fire Safety Standard Act Fund is dissolved, and any future deposits due to that Fund and any outstanding obligations or liabilities of that Fund pass to the General Revenue Fund.
(Source: P.A. 99-576, eff. 7-15-16.)