Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(415 ILCS 5/9.14)
Registration of smaller sources.
(a) After the effective date of rules implementing this Section, the owner or operator of an eligible source shall annually register with the Agency instead of complying with the requirement to obtain an air pollution construction or operating permit under this Act. The criteria for determining an eligible source shall include the following:
(1) the source must not be required to obtain a
permit pursuant to the Illinois Clean Air Act Permit Program or Federally Enforceable State Operating Permit program, or under regulations promulgated pursuant to Section 111 or 112 of the Clean Air Act;
(2) the USEPA has not otherwise determined that a
(3) the source emits less than an actual 5 tons per
year of combined particulate matter, carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxides, sulfur dioxide, and volatile organic material air pollutant emissions;
(4) the source emits less than an actual 0.5 tons per
year of combined hazardous air pollutant emissions;
(5) the source emits less than an actual 0.05 tons
per year of lead air emissions;
(6) the source emits less than an actual 0.05 tons
per year of mercury air emissions; and
(7) the source does not have an emission unit subject
to a standard pursuant to 40 CFR Part 61 Maximum Achievable Control Technology, or 40 CFR Part 63 National Emissions Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants other than those regulations that the USEPA has categorized as "area source".
(b) Complete registration of an eligible source, including payment of the required fee as specified in subsection (c) of this Section, shall provide the owner or operator of the eligible source with an exemption from the requirement to obtain an air pollution construction or operating permit under this Act. The registration of smaller sources program does not relieve an owner or operator from the obligation to comply with any other applicable rules or regulations.
(c) The owner or operator of an eligible source shall pay an annual registration fee of $235 to the Agency at the time of registration submittal and each year thereafter. Fees collected under this Section shall be deposited into the Environmental Protection Permit and Inspection Fund.
(d) The Agency shall propose rules to implement the registration of smaller sources program. Within 120 days after the Agency proposes those rules, the Board shall adopt rules to implement the registration of smaller sources program. These rules may be subsequently amended from time to time pursuant to a proposal filed with the Board by any person, and any necessary amendments shall be adopted by the Board within 120 days after proposal. Such amendments may provide for the alteration or revision of the initial criteria included in subsection (a) of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-95, eff. 7-12-11; 97-1081, eff. 8-24-12.)