Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

410 ILCS 535/12

    (410 ILCS 535/12)
    Sec. 12. Live births; place of registration.
    (1) Each live birth which occurs in this State shall be registered with the local or subregistrar of the district in which the birth occurred as provided in this Section, within 7 days after the birth. When a birth occurs on a moving conveyance, the city, village, township, or road district in which the child is first removed from the conveyance shall be considered the place of birth and a birth certificate shall be filed in the registration district in which the place is located.
    (2) When a birth occurs in an institution, the person in charge of the institution or his designated representative shall obtain and record all the personal and statistical particulars relative to the parents of the child that are required to properly complete the live birth certificate; shall secure the required personal signatures on the hospital worksheet; shall prepare the certificate from this worksheet; and shall file the certificate with the local registrar. The institution shall retain the hospital worksheet permanently or as otherwise specified by rule. The physician in attendance shall verify or provide the date of birth and medical information required by the certificate, within 24 hours after the birth occurs.
    (3) When a birth occurs outside an institution, the certificate shall be prepared and filed by one of the following in the indicated order of priority:
        (a) The physician in attendance at or immediately
    
after the birth, or in the absence of such a person,
        (b) Any other person in attendance at or immediately
    
after the birth, or in the absence of such a person,
        (c) The father, the mother, or in the absence of the
    
father and the inability of the mother, the person in charge of the premises where the birth occurred.
    (4) Unless otherwise provided in this Act, if the mother was not married to the father of the child at either the time of conception or the time of birth, the name of the father shall be entered on the child's birth certificate only if the mother and the person to be named as the father have signed an acknowledgment of parentage in accordance with subsection (5).
    Unless otherwise provided in this Act, if the mother was married at the time of conception or birth and the presumed father (that is, the mother's husband) is not the biological father of the child, the name of the biological father shall be entered on the child's birth certificate only if, in accordance with subsection (5), (i) the mother and the person to be named as the father have signed an acknowledgment of parentage and (ii) the mother and presumed father have signed a denial of paternity.
    (5) Upon the birth of a child to an unmarried woman, or upon the birth of a child to a woman who was married at the time of conception or birth and whose husband is not the biological father of the child, the institution at the time of birth and the local registrar or county clerk after the birth shall do the following:
        (a) Provide (i) an opportunity for the child's mother
    
and father to sign an acknowledgment of parentage and (ii) if the presumed father is not the biological father, an opportunity for the mother and presumed father to sign a denial of paternity. The signing and witnessing of the acknowledgment of parentage or, if the presumed father of the child is not the biological father, the acknowledgment of parentage and denial of paternity conclusively establishes a parent and child relationship in accordance with Sections 5 and 6 of the Illinois Parentage Act of 1984.
        The Department of Healthcare and Family Services
    
shall furnish the acknowledgment of parentage and denial of paternity form to institutions, county clerks, and State and local registrars' offices. The form shall include instructions to send the original signed and witnessed acknowledgment of parentage and denial of paternity to the Department of Healthcare and Family Services. The acknowledgement of paternity and denial of paternity form shall also include a statement informing the mother, the alleged father, and the presumed father, if any, that they have the right to request deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) tests regarding the issue of the child's paternity and that by signing the form, they expressly waive such tests. The statement shall be set forth in bold-face capital letters not less than 0.25 inches in height.
        (b) Provide the following documents, furnished by the
    
Department of Healthcare and Family Services, to the child's mother, biological father, and (if the person presumed to be the child's father is not the biological father) presumed father for their review at the time the opportunity is provided to establish a parent and child relationship:
            (i) An explanation of the implications of,
        
alternatives to, legal consequences of, and the rights and responsibilities that arise from signing an acknowledgment of parentage and, if necessary, a denial of paternity, including an explanation of the parental rights and responsibilities of child support, visitation, custody, retroactive support, health insurance coverage, and payment of birth expenses.
            (ii) An explanation of the benefits of having a
        
child's parentage established and the availability of parentage establishment and child support enforcement services.
            (iii) A request for an application for child
        
support enforcement services from the Department of Healthcare and Family Services.
            (iv) Instructions concerning the opportunity to
        
speak, either by telephone or in person, with staff of the Department of Healthcare and Family Services who are trained to clarify information and answer questions about paternity establishment.
            (v) Instructions for completing and signing the
        
acknowledgment of parentage and denial of paternity.
        (c) Provide an oral explanation of the documents and
    
instructions set forth in subdivision (5)(b), including an explanation of the implications of, alternatives to, legal consequences of, and the rights and responsibilities that arise from signing an acknowledgment of parentage and, if necessary, a denial of paternity. The oral explanation may be given in person or through the use of video or audio equipment.
    (6) The institution, State or local registrar, or county clerk shall provide an opportunity for the child's father or mother to sign a rescission of parentage. The signing and witnessing of the rescission of parentage voids the acknowledgment of parentage and nullifies the presumption of paternity if executed and filed with the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Illinois Department of Public Aid) within the time frame contained in Section 5 of the Illinois Parentage Act of 1984. The Department of Healthcare and Family Services shall furnish the rescission of parentage form to institutions, county clerks, and State and local registrars' offices. The form shall include instructions to send the original signed and witnessed rescission of parentage to the Department of Healthcare and Family Services.
    (7) An acknowledgment of paternity signed pursuant to Section 6 of the Illinois Parentage Act of 1984 may be challenged in court only on the basis of fraud, duress, or material mistake of fact, with the burden of proof upon the challenging party. Pending outcome of a challenge to the acknowledgment of paternity, the legal responsibilities of the signatories shall remain in full force and effect, except upon order of the court upon a showing of good cause.
    (8) When the process for acknowledgment of parentage as provided for under subsection (5) establishes the paternity of a child whose certificate of birth is on file in another state, the Department of Healthcare and Family Services shall forward a copy of the acknowledgment of parentage, the denial of paternity, if applicable, and the rescission of parentage, if applicable, to the birth record agency of the state where the child's certificate of birth is on file.
    (9) In the event the parent-child relationship has been established in accordance with subdivision (a)(1) of Section 6 of the Parentage Act of 1984, the names of the biological mother and biological father so established shall be entered on the child's birth certificate, and the names of the surrogate mother and surrogate mother's husband, if any, shall not be on the birth certificate.
(Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07; 96-333, eff. 8-11-09; 96-474, eff. 8-14-09; 96-1000, eff. 7-2-10.)