Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
305 ILCS 5/8A-11
(305 ILCS 5/8A-11)
(from Ch. 23, par. 8A-11)
(a) No person shall:
(1) Knowingly charge a resident of a nursing home for
any services provided pursuant to Article V of the Illinois Public Aid Code, money or other consideration at a rate in excess of the rates established for covered services by the Illinois Department pursuant to Article V of the Illinois Public Aid Code; or
(2) Knowingly charge, solicit, accept or receive, in
addition to any amount otherwise authorized or required to be paid pursuant to Article V of the Illinois Public Aid Code, any gift, money, donation or other consideration:
(i) As a precondition to admitting or expediting
the admission of a recipient or applicant, pursuant to Article V of the Illinois Public Aid Code, to a long-term care facility as defined in Section 1-113 of the Nursing Home Care Act or a facility as defined in Section 1-113 of the ID/DD Community Care Act, Section 1-113 of the MC/DD Act, or Section 1-102 of the Specialized Mental Health Rehabilitation Act of 2013; and
(ii) As a requirement for the recipient's or
applicant's continued stay in such facility when the cost of the services provided therein to the recipient is paid for, in whole or in part, pursuant to Article V of the Illinois Public Aid Code.
(b) Nothing herein shall prohibit a person from making a voluntary
contribution, gift or donation to a long-term care facility.
(c) This paragraph shall not apply to agreements to provide continuing
care or life care between a life care facility as defined by the Life
Care Facilities Act, and a person financially eligible for benefits pursuant to
Article V of the Illinois Public Aid Code.
(d) Any person who violates this Section shall be guilty of a business
offense and fined not less than $5,000 nor more than $25,000.
(e) "Person", as used in this Section, means an individual, corporation,
partnership, or unincorporated association.
(f) The State's Attorney of the county in which the facility is located
and the Attorney General shall be notified by the Illinois Department of
any alleged violations of this Section known to the Department.
(g) The Illinois Department shall adopt rules and regulations to carry
out the provisions of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 98-104, eff. 7-22-13; 99-180, eff. 7-29-15.)