Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

305 ILCS 5/5-5e

    (305 ILCS 5/5-5e)
    Sec. 5-5e. Adjusted rates of reimbursement.
    (a) Rates or payments for services in effect on June 30, 2012 shall be adjusted and services shall be affected as required by any other provision of Public Act 97-689. In addition, the Department shall do the following:
        (1) Delink the per diem rate paid for supportive
    
living facility services from the per diem rate paid for nursing facility services, effective for services provided on or after May 1, 2011 and before July 1, 2019.
        (2) Cease payment for bed reserves in nursing
    
facilities and specialized mental health rehabilitation facilities; for purposes of therapeutic home visits for individuals scoring as TBI on the MDS 3.0, beginning June 1, 2015, the Department shall approve payments for bed reserves in nursing facilities and specialized mental health rehabilitation facilities that have at least a 90% occupancy level and at least 80% of their residents are Medicaid eligible. Payment shall be at a daily rate of 75% of an individual's current Medicaid per diem and shall not exceed 10 days in a calendar month.
        (2.5) Cease payment for bed reserves for purposes of
    
inpatient hospitalizations to intermediate care facilities for persons with development disabilities, except in the instance of residents who are under 21 years of age.
        (3) Cease payment of the $10 per day add-on payment
    
to nursing facilities for certain residents with developmental disabilities.
    (b) After the application of subsection (a), notwithstanding any other provision of this Code to the contrary and to the extent permitted by federal law, on and after July 1, 2012, the rates of reimbursement for services and other payments provided under this Code shall further be reduced as follows:
        (1) Rates or payments for physician services, dental
    
services, or community health center services reimbursed through an encounter rate, and services provided under the Medicaid Rehabilitation Option of the Illinois Title XIX State Plan shall not be further reduced, except as provided in Section 5-5b.1.
        (2) Rates or payments, or the portion thereof, paid
    
to a provider that is operated by a unit of local government or State University that provides the non-federal share of such services shall not be further reduced, except as provided in Section 5-5b.1.
        (3) Rates or payments for hospital services delivered
    
by a hospital defined as a Safety-Net Hospital under Section 5-5e.1 of this Code shall not be further reduced, except as provided in Section 5-5b.1.
        (4) Rates or payments for hospital services delivered
    
by a Critical Access Hospital, which is an Illinois hospital designated as a critical care hospital by the Department of Public Health in accordance with 42 CFR 485, Subpart F, shall not be further reduced, except as provided in Section 5-5b.1.
        (5) Rates or payments for Nursing Facility Services
    
shall only be further adjusted pursuant to Section 5-5.2 of this Code.
        (6) Rates or payments for services delivered by long
    
term care facilities licensed under the ID/DD Community Care Act or the MC/DD Act and developmental training services shall not be further reduced.
        (7) Rates or payments for services provided under
    
capitation rates shall be adjusted taking into consideration the rates reduction and covered services required by Public Act 97-689.
        (8) For hospitals not previously described in this
    
subsection, the rates or payments for hospital services shall be further reduced by 3.5%, except for payments authorized under Section 5A-12.4 of this Code.
        (9) For all other rates or payments for services
    
delivered by providers not specifically referenced in paragraphs (1) through (8), rates or payments shall be further reduced by 2.7%.
    (c) Any assessment imposed by this Code shall continue and nothing in this Section shall be construed to cause it to cease.
    (d) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code to the contrary, subject to federal approval under Title XIX of the Social Security Act, for dates of service on and after July 1, 2014, rates or payments for services provided for the purpose of transitioning children from a hospital to home placement or other appropriate setting by a children's community-based health care center authorized under the Alternative Health Care Delivery Act shall be $683 per day.
    (e) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code to the contrary, subject to federal approval under Title XIX of the Social Security Act, for dates of service on and after July 1, 2014, rates or payments for home health visits shall be $72.
    (f) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Code to the contrary, subject to federal approval under Title XIX of the Social Security Act, for dates of service on and after July 1, 2014, rates or payments for the certified nursing assistant component of the home health agency rate shall be $20.
(Source: P.A. 101-10, eff. 6-5-19.)