Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
230 ILCS 10/9
(230 ILCS 10/9)
(from Ch. 120, par. 2409)
(a) The Board may issue an occupational license to an applicant upon the
payment of a non-refundable fee set by the Board, upon a determination by
the Board that the applicant is eligible for an occupational license and
upon payment of an annual license fee in an amount to be established. To
be eligible for an occupational license, an applicant must:
(1) be at least 21 years of age if the applicant will
perform any function involved in gaming by patrons. Any applicant seeking an occupational license for a non-gaming function shall be at least 18 years of age;
(2) not have been convicted of a felony offense, a
violation of Article 28 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, or a similar statute of any other jurisdiction;
(2.5) not have been convicted of a crime, other than
a crime described in item (2) of this subsection (a), involving dishonesty or moral turpitude, except that the Board may, in its discretion, issue an occupational license to a person who has been convicted of a crime described in this item (2.5) more than 10 years prior to his or her application and has not subsequently been convicted of any other crime;
(3) have demonstrated a level of skill or knowledge
which the Board determines to be necessary in order to operate gambling aboard a riverboat, in a casino, or at an organization gaming facility; and
(4) have met standards for the holding of an
occupational license as adopted by rules of the Board. Such rules shall provide that any person or entity seeking an occupational license to manage gambling operations under this Act shall be subject to background inquiries and further requirements similar to those required of applicants for an owners license. Furthermore, such rules shall provide that each such entity shall be permitted to manage gambling operations for only one licensed owner.
(b) Each application for an occupational license shall be on forms
prescribed by the Board and shall contain all information required by the
Board. The applicant shall set forth in the application: whether he has been
issued prior gambling related licenses; whether he has been licensed in any
other state under any other name, and, if so, such name and his age; and
whether or not a permit or license issued to him in any other state has
been suspended, restricted or revoked, and, if so, for what period of time.
(c) Each applicant shall submit with his application, on forms provided
by the Board, 2 sets of his fingerprints. The Board shall charge each
applicant a fee set by the Department of State Police to defray the costs
associated with the search and classification of fingerprints obtained by
the Board with respect to the applicant's application. These fees shall be
paid into the State Police Services Fund.
(d) The Board may in its discretion refuse an occupational license to
any person: (1) who is unqualified to perform the duties required of such
applicant; (2) who fails to disclose or states falsely any information
called for in the application; (3) who has been found guilty of a
violation of this Act or whose prior gambling related license or
application therefor has been suspended, restricted, revoked or denied for
just cause in any other state; or (4) for any other just cause.
(e) The Board may suspend, revoke or restrict any occupational licensee:
(1) for violation of any provision of this Act; (2) for violation of any
of the rules and regulations of the Board; (3) for any cause which, if
known to the Board, would have disqualified the applicant from receiving
such license; or (4) for default in the payment of any obligation or debt
due to the State of Illinois; or (5) for any other just cause.
(f) A person who knowingly makes a false statement on an application is
guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.
(g) Any license issued pursuant to this Section shall be valid for a
period of one year from the date of issuance.
(h) Nothing in this Act shall be interpreted to prohibit a licensed
owner or organization gaming licensee from entering into an agreement with a public community college or a school approved under the
Private Business and Vocational Schools Act of 2012 for the training of any
occupational licensee. Any training offered by such a school shall be in
accordance with a written agreement between the licensed owner or organization gaming licensee and the school.
(i) Any training provided for occupational licensees may be conducted
either at the site of the gambling facility or at a school with which a licensed owner or organization gaming licensee has
entered into an agreement pursuant to subsection (h).
(Source: P.A. 101-31, eff. 6-28-19.)