Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

230 ILCS 5/40

    (230 ILCS 5/40) (from Ch. 8, par. 37-40)
    Sec. 40. (a) The imposition of any fine or penalty provided in this Act shall not preclude the Board in its rules and regulations from imposing a fine or penalty for any other action which, in the Board's discretion, is a detriment or impediment to horse racing.
    (b) The Director of Agriculture or his or her authorized representative shall impose the following monetary penalties and hold administrative hearings as required for failure to submit the following applications, lists, or reports within the time period, date or manner required by statute or rule or for removing a foal from Illinois prior to inspection:
        (1) late filing of a renewal application for offering
    
or standing stallion for service:
            (A) if an application is submitted no more than
        
30 days late, $50;
            (B) if an application is submitted no more than
        
45 days late, $150; or
            (C) if an application is submitted more than 45
        
days late, if filing of the application is allowed under an administrative hearing, $250;
        (2) late filing of list or report of mares bred:
            (A) if a list or report is submitted no more than
        
30 days late, $50;
            (B) if a list or report is submitted no more than
        
60 days late, $150; or
            (C) if a list or report is submitted more than 60
        
days late, if filing of the list or report is allowed under an administrative hearing, $250;
        (3) filing an Illinois foaled thoroughbred mare
    
status report after December 31:
            (A) if a report is submitted no more than 30 days
        
late, $50;
            (B) if a report is submitted no more than 90 days
        
late, $150;
            (C) if a report is submitted no more than 150
        
days late, $250; or
            (D) if a report is submitted more than 150 days
        
late, if filing of the report is allowed under an administrative hearing, $500;
        (4) late filing of application for foal eligibility
    
certificate:
            (A) if an application is submitted no more than
        
30 days late, $50;
            (B) if an application is submitted no more than
        
90 days late, $150;
            (C) if an application is submitted no more than
        
150 days late, $250; or
            (D) if an application is submitted more than 150
        
days late, if filing of the application is allowed under an administrative hearing, $500;
        (5) failure to report the intent to remove a foal
    
from Illinois prior to inspection, identification and certification by a Department of Agriculture investigator, $50; and
        (6) if a list or report of mares bred is incomplete,
    
$50 per mare not included on the list or report.
    Any person upon whom monetary penalties are imposed under this Section 3 times within a 5-year period shall have any further monetary penalties imposed at double the amounts set forth above. All monies assessed and collected for violations relating to thoroughbreds shall be paid into the Illinois Thoroughbred Breeders Fund. All monies assessed and collected for violations relating to standardbreds shall be paid into the Illinois Standardbred Breeders Fund.
(Source: P.A. 99-933, eff. 1-27-17; 100-201, eff. 8-18-17.)