Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 715/10)
(from Ch. 96 1/2, par. 4511)
(a) In addition to the duties and powers of the Department prescribed by
Civil Administrative Code of Illinois, it shall have full power and
authority to carry out and administer the provisions of this Act.
These powers shall include, but are not limited to, the imposition of the
following fees to enable the Department to carry out the requirements of this
(1) A registration fee of $475 assessed on July 1 of
each calendar year that is due from each operator engaged in and controlling a permitted or unpermitted surface mining operation. The registration fee shall be accompanied by a registration form, provided by the Department, which shall indicate the mailing address and telephone number of the operator, the location of all mining operations controlled by the operator, the minerals being mined, and other information deemed necessary by the Department. A $475 registration fee is the maximum registration fee due from a single operator each calendar year regardless of the number of sites under the operator's control.
(2) An additional fee of $175 assessed on July 1 of
each calendar year for each site that was actively being surfaced mined during the preceding 12 months that is due from the operator engaged in and controlling the permitted or unpermitted surface mining operations.
(3) An additional fee of $375 assessed on July 1 of
each calendar year that is due from each operator engaged in and controlling a permitted or unpermitted surface mining operation where blasting operations occurred during the preceding 12 months.
(b) Fees shall be assessed by the Department commencing July 1, 1995 for
every surface mine operator, active mining site, and active aggregate blasting
operation of record as of that date and on July 1 of each year thereafter.
The fees assessed under this Section are in addition to any other fees required
(c) All fees assessed under this Section shall be submitted to the
Department no later than 30 days from the date listed on the Department's
annual fee assessment letter sent to the surface mine operator. If the
operator is delinquent in the payment of the fees assessed under this Section,
no further permits or certifications shall be issued to the operator until
the delinquent fees
have been paid. Moreover, if the operator is delinquent for more than 60 days
in the payment of fees assessed under this Section, the Department shall take
the action, in accordance with Section 13 of this Act, necessary to enjoin
further surface mining and aggregate blasting
operations until all delinquent fees are paid.
(Source: P.A. 97-1136, eff. 1-1-13.)