Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 454/5-10)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
Requirements for license as leasing agent; continuing education.
(a) Every applicant for licensure as a leasing agent must meet the following qualifications:
(1) be at least 18 years of age;
(2) be of good moral
(3) successfully complete a 4-year course of study
in a high school or secondary school or an equivalent course of study approved by the Illinois State Board of Education;
(4) personally take and pass a written examination
authorized by the Department sufficient to demonstrate the applicant's knowledge of the provisions of this Act relating to leasing agents and the applicant's competence to engage in the activities of a licensed leasing agent;
(5) provide satisfactory evidence of having completed
15 hours of instruction in an approved course of study relating to the leasing of residential real property. The Board shall recommend to the Department the number of hours each topic of study shall require. The course of study shall, among other topics, cover the provisions of this Act applicable to leasing agents; fair housing issues relating to residential leasing; advertising and marketing issues; leases, applications, and credit reports; owner-tenant relationships and owner-tenant laws; the handling of funds; and environmental issues relating to residential real property;
(6) complete any other requirements as set forth by
(7) present a valid application for issuance of an
initial license accompanied by a sponsor card and the fees specified by rule.
(b) No applicant shall engage in any of the activities covered by this Act until a valid sponsor card has been issued to such applicant. The sponsor card shall be valid for a maximum period of 45 days after the date of issuance unless extended for good cause as provided by rule.
(c) Successfully completed course work, completed pursuant to the
requirements of this
Section, may be applied to the course work requirements to obtain a managing
broker's license as provided by rule. The Board may
recommend to the Department and the Department may adopt requirements for approved courses, course
content, and the
approval of courses, instructors, and education providers, as well as education provider and instructor
fees. The Department may
establish continuing education requirements for licensed leasing agents, by
rule, consistent with the language and intent of this Act, with the advice of
(d) The continuing education requirement for leasing agents shall consist of a single core curriculum to be established by the Department as recommended by the Board. Leasing agents shall be required to complete no less than 6 hours of continuing education in the core curriculum for each 2-year renewal period.
(Source: P.A. 99-227, eff. 8-3-15; 100-188, eff. 1-1-18