Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 447/25-20
(225 ILCS 447/25-20)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
Training; private security contractor and
(a) Registered employees of the private security
contractor agency who provide traditional guarding or other
private security related functions or who respond to alarm
systems shall complete, within 30 days of their employment, a
minimum of 20 hours of classroom basic training provided by a
qualified instructor, which shall include the following
(1) The law regarding arrest and search and seizure
as it applies to private security.
(2) Civil and criminal liability for acts related to
(3) The use of force, including but not limited to
the use of nonlethal force (i.e., disabling spray, baton, stungun or similar weapon).
(4) Arrest and control techniques.
(5) The offenses under the Criminal Code of 2012 that
are directly related to the protection of persons and property.
(6) The law on private security forces and on
reporting to law enforcement agencies.
(7) Fire prevention, fire equipment, and fire
(8) The procedures for
(9) Civil rights and public relations.
(10) The identification of terrorists, acts of
terrorism, and terrorist organizations, as defined by federal and State statutes.
(b) All other employees of a private security contractor
agency shall complete a minimum of 20 hours of training
provided by the qualified instructor within 30 days of their
employment. The substance of the training shall be related to
the work performed by the registered employee.
(c) Registered employees of the private security contractor agency who
guarding or other private security related functions, in addition to the
required under subsection (a), within 6 months of their employment,
an additional 8 hours of training on subjects to be determined by the
training may be site-specific and may be conducted on the job.
(d) In addition to the basic training provided for in subsections (a) and
registered employees of the private security contractor agency who provide
guarding or other
private security related functions
shall complete an
8 hours of refresher training on subjects to be determined by the
each calendar year commencing with the
following the employee's first employment anniversary date,
refresher training may be site-specific and may be conducted on the job.
(e) It is the responsibility of the employer to certify,
on a form provided by the Department, that the employee has
successfully completed the basic and refresher training. The
form shall be a permanent record of training completed by the
employee and shall be placed in the employee's file with the
employer for the period the employee remains with the
employer. An agency may place a notarized copy of the
Department form in lieu of the original into the permanent
employee registration card file. The original form shall be
given to the employee when his or her employment is
terminated. Failure to return the original form to the
employee is grounds for disciplinary action. The employee
shall not be required to repeat the required training once the
employee has been issued the form. An employer may provide or
require additional training.
(f) Any certification of completion of the 20-hour basic
training issued under the Private Detective, Private Alarm,
Private Security and Locksmith Act of 1993 or any prior Act
shall be accepted as proof of training under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-253, eff. 8-9-13; 98-756, eff. 7-16-14.)