Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 447/20-20

    (225 ILCS 447/20-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
    Sec. 20-20. Training; private alarm contractor and employees.
    (a) Registered employees of the private alarm contractor agency who carry a firearm and respond to alarm systems shall complete, within 30 days of their employment, a minimum of 20 hours of classroom training provided by a qualified instructor and shall include all of the following subjects:
        (1) The law regarding arrest and search and seizure
    
as it applies to the private alarm industry.
        (2) Civil and criminal liability for acts related to
    
the private alarm industry.
        (3) The use of force, including but not limited to
    
the use of nonlethal force (i.e., disabling spray, baton, stungun, or similar weapon).
        (4) Arrest and control techniques.
        (5) The offenses under the Criminal Code of 2012
    
that are directly related to the protection of persons and property.
        (6) The law on private alarm forces and on reporting
    
to law enforcement agencies.
        (7) Fire prevention, fire equipment, and fire safety.
        (8) Civil rights and public relations.
        (9) The identification of terrorists, acts of
    
terrorism, and terrorist organizations, as defined by federal and State statutes.
    Pursuant to directives set forth by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and the provisions set forth by the National Fire Protection Association in the National Fire Alarm Code and the Life Safety Code, training may include the installation, repair, and maintenance of emergency communication systems and mass notification systems.
    (b) All other employees of a private alarm contractor agency shall complete a minimum of 20 hours of training provided by a qualified instructor within 30 days of their employment. The substance of the training shall be related to the work performed by the registered employee.
    (c) It is the responsibility of the employer to certify, on forms provided by the Department, that the employee has successfully completed the training. The form shall be a permanent record of training completed by the employee and shall be placed in the employee's file with the employer for the term the employee is retained by the employer. A private alarm contractor agency may place a notarized copy of the Department form in lieu of the original into the permanent employee registration card file. The form shall be returned to the employee when his or her employment is terminated. Failure to return the form to the employee is grounds for discipline. The employee shall not be required to complete the training required under this Act once the employee has been issued a form.
    (d) Nothing in this Act prevents any employer from providing or requiring additional training beyond the required 20 hours that the employer feels is necessary and appropriate for competent job performance.
    (e) Any certification of completion of the 20-hour basic training issued under the Private Detective, Private Alarm, Private Security, and Locksmith Act of 1993 or any prior Act shall be accepted as proof of training under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-847, eff. 6-1-10; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13.)