Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 422/85

    (225 ILCS 422/85)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 100-948)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 85. Consideration of past crimes.
    (a) The Commission shall not require the applicant to report the following information and shall not consider the following criminal history records in connection with an application for a license or permit under this Act:
        (1) Juvenile adjudications of delinquent minors as
    
defined in Section 5-105 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, subject to the restrictions set forth in Section 5-130 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987.
        (2) Law enforcement records, court records, and
    
conviction records of an individual who was 17 years old at the time of the offense and before January 1, 2014, unless the nature of the offense required the individual to be tried as an adult.
        (3) Records of arrest not followed by a conviction.
        (4) Convictions overturned by a higher court.
        (5) Convictions or arrests that have been sealed or
    
expunged.
    (b) When considering the denial of a license or recovery permit on the grounds of conviction of a crime, including those set forth in paragraph (2) of subsection (a) of Section 40 and subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1) of subsection (a) of Section 45, respectively, the Commission, in evaluating whether the conviction will impair the applicant's ability to engage in the position for which a license or permit is sought and the applicant's present eligibility for a license or recovery permit, shall consider each of the following criteria:
        (1) The lack of direct relation of the offense for
    
which the applicant was previously convicted to the duties, functions, and responsibilities of the position for which a license is sought.
        (2) Circumstances relative to the offense, including
    
the applicant's age at the time that the offense was committed.
        (3) Evidence of any act committed subsequent to the
    
act or crime under consideration as grounds for denial, which also could be considered as grounds for disciplinary action under this Act.
        (4) Whether 5 years since a conviction or 3 years
    
since release from confinement for the conviction, whichever is later, have passed without a subsequent conviction.
        (5) Successful completion of sentence or for
    
applicants serving a term of parole or probation, a progress report provided by the applicant's probation or parole officer that documents the applicant's compliance with conditions of supervision.
        (6) If the applicant was previously licensed or
    
employed in this State or other states or jurisdictions, then the lack of prior misconduct arising from or related to the licensed position or position of employment.
        (7) Evidence of rehabilitation or rehabilitative
    
effort during or after incarceration, or during or after a term of supervision, including, but not limited to, a certificate of good conduct under Section 5-5.5-25 of the Unified Code of Corrections or a certificate of relief from disabilities under Section 5-5.5-10 of the Unified Code of Corrections.
        (8) Any other mitigating factors that contribute to
    
the person's potential and current ability to perform the duties and responsibilities of practices licensed or registered under this Act.
    (c) When considering the suspension or revocation of a license or recovery permit on the grounds of conviction of a crime, the Commission, in evaluating the rehabilitation of the applicant, whether the conviction will impair the applicant's ability to engage in the position for which a license or permit is sought, and the applicant's present eligibility for a license or recovery permit, shall consider each of the following criteria:
        (1) The nature and severity of the act or offense.
        (2) The license holder's or recovery permit holder's
    
criminal record in its entirety.
        (3) The amount of time that has lapsed since the
    
commission of the act or offense.
        (4) Whether the license holder or recovery permit
    
holder has complied with any terms of parole, probation, restitution, or any other sanctions lawfully imposed against him or her.
        (5) If applicable, evidence of expungement
    
proceedings.
        (6) Evidence, if any, of rehabilitation submitted by
    
the license holder or recovery permit holder.
    (d) If the Commission refuses to grant a license or permit to an applicant, then the Commission shall notify the applicant of the denial in writing with the following included in the notice of denial:
        (1) a statement about the decision to refuse to grant
    
a license or permit;
        (2) a list of the convictions that the Commission
    
determined will impair the applicant's ability to engage in the position for which a license or permit is sought;
        (3) a list of convictions that formed the sole or
    
partial basis for the refusal to grant a license or permit; and
        (4) a summary of the appeal process or the earliest
    
the applicant may reapply for a license or permit, whichever is applicable.
    (e) No later than May 1 of each year, the Commission must prepare, publicly announce, and publish a report of summary statistical information relating to new and renewal license or permit applications during the preceding calendar year. Each report shall show, at a minimum:
        (1) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license or permit under this Act within the previous calendar year;
        (2) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license or permit under this Act within the previous calendar year who had any criminal conviction;
        (3) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license or permit under this Act in the previous calendar year who were granted a license or permit;
        (4) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license or permit with a criminal conviction who were granted a license or permit under this Act within the previous calendar year;
        (5) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license or permit under this Act within the previous calendar year who were denied a license or permit;
        (6) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license or permit with a criminal conviction who were denied a license or permit under this Act in the previous calendar year in whole or in part because of a prior conviction;
        (7) the number of licenses or permits issued on
    
probation without monitoring under this Act in the previous calendar year to applicants with a criminal conviction; and
        (8) the number of licenses or permits issued on
    
probation with monitoring under this Act in the previous calendar year to applicants with a criminal conviction.
(Source: P.A. 100-286, eff. 1-1-18.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 100-948)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
    Sec. 85. Consideration of past crimes.
    (a) The Commission shall not require the license or permit holder or applicant to report the following information and shall not consider the following criminal history records in connection with an application for a license or permit under this Act:
        (1) Juvenile adjudications of delinquent minors as
    
defined in Section 5-105 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, subject to the restrictions set forth in Section 5-130 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987.
        (2) Law enforcement records, court records, and
    
conviction records of an individual who was 18 years old or younger at the time of the conviction for the offense and before January 1, 2014, unless the nature of the offense required the individual to be tried as an adult.
        (3) Records of arrest not followed by a conviction.
        (4) Convictions overturned by a higher court.
        (5) Convictions or arrests that have been sealed or
    
expunged.
    (b) When considering the denial of a license or recovery permit on the grounds of conviction of a crime, the Commission, in evaluating whether the conviction will impair the license or permit holder's or applicant's ability to engage in the position for which a license or permit is sought and the license or permit holder's or applicant's present eligibility for a license or recovery permit, shall consider each of the following criteria:
        (1) The lack of direct relation of the offense for
    
which the license or permit holder or applicant was previously convicted to the duties, functions, and responsibilities of the position for which a license or permit is sought.
        (2) Circumstances relative to the offense, including
    
the license or permit holder's or applicant's age at the time that the offense was committed.
        (3) Evidence of any act committed subsequent to the
    
act or crime under consideration as grounds for denial, which also could be considered as grounds for disciplinary action under this Act.
        (4) Whether 5 years since a conviction or 3 years
    
since successful completion of the imposed sentence for the conviction, whichever is later, have passed without a subsequent conviction.
        (5) Successful completion of sentence or for license
    
or permit holders or applicants serving a term of parole or probation, a progress report provided by the license or permit holder's or applicant's probation or parole officer that documents the license or permit holder's or applicant's compliance with conditions of supervision.
        (6) If the license or permit holder or applicant was
    
previously licensed or employed in this State or other states or jurisdictions, then the lack of prior misconduct arising from or related to the licensed position or position of employment.
        (7) Evidence of rehabilitation or rehabilitative
    
effort during or after incarceration, or during or after a term of supervision, including, but not limited to, a certificate of good conduct under Section 5-5.5-25 of the Unified Code of Corrections or a certificate of relief from disabilities under Section 5-5.5-10 of the Unified Code of Corrections.
        (8) Any other mitigating factors that contribute to
    
the license or permit holder's or applicant's potential and current ability to perform the duties and responsibilities of practices licensed or registered under this Act.
    (c) When considering the suspension or revocation of a license or recovery permit on the grounds of conviction of a crime, the Commission, in evaluating the rehabilitation of the license or permit holder, whether the conviction will impair the license or permit holder's ability to engage in the position for which a license or permit is sought, and the license or permit holder's present eligibility for a license or recovery permit, shall consider each of the following criteria:
        (1) The nature and severity of the act or offense.
        (2) The license holder's or recovery permit holder's
    
criminal record in its entirety.
        (3) The amount of time that has lapsed since the
    
commission of the act or offense.
        (4) Whether the license holder or recovery permit
    
holder has complied with any terms of parole, probation, restitution, or any other sanctions lawfully imposed against him or her.
        (5) If applicable, evidence of expungement
    
proceedings.
        (6) Evidence, if any, of rehabilitation submitted by
    
the license holder or recovery permit holder.
    (d) If the Commission refuses to issue or renew a license or permit, or suspends, revokes, places on probation, or takes any disciplinary action that the Commission may deem proper against a license or permit, then the Commission shall notify the license or permit holder or applicant of the decision in writing with the following included in the notice of decision:
        (1) a statement about the decision;
        (2) a list of the convictions that the Commission
    
determined will impair the license or permit holder's or applicant's ability to engage in the position for which a license or permit is sought;
        (3) a list of convictions that formed the sole or
    
partial basis for the decision; and
        (4) a summary of the appeal process or the earliest
    
reapplication for a license or permit is permissible, whichever is applicable.
    (e) No later than May 1 of each year, the Commission must prepare, publicly announce, and publish a report of summary statistical information relating to new and renewal license or permit applications during the preceding calendar year. Each report shall show, at a minimum:
        (1) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license or permit under this Act within the previous calendar year;
        (2) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license or permit under this Act within the previous calendar year who had a criminal conviction identified in paragraph (3) of subsection (a) of Section 80;
        (3) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license or permit under this Act in the previous calendar year who were granted a license or permit;
        (4) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license or permit with a criminal conviction identified in paragraph (3) of subsection (a) of Section 80 who were granted a license or permit under this Act within the previous calendar year;
        (5) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license or permit under this Act within the previous calendar year who were denied a license or permit;
        (6) the number of applicants for a new or renewal
    
license or permit with a criminal conviction identified in paragraph (3) of subsection (a) of Section 80 who were denied a license or permit under this Act in the previous calendar year in whole or in part because of the prior conviction;
        (7) the number of licenses or permits issued with a
    
condition of probation without monitoring imposed by the Commission under this Act in the previous calendar year to applicants with a criminal conviction identified in paragraph (3) of subsection (a) of Section 80; and
        (8) the number of licenses or permits issued with a
    
condition of probation with monitoring imposed by the Commission under this Act in the previous calendar year to applicants with a criminal conviction identified in paragraph (3) of subsection (a) of Section 80.
(Source: P.A. 100-286, eff. 1-1-18; 100-948, eff. 1-1-19.)