Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 412/75
(225 ILCS 412/75)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
Grounds for discipline.
(a) The Department may refuse to issue or renew and may
revoke or suspend a license under this Act, and may place on probation,
reprimand, or take other
disciplinary or non-disciplinary action with regard to any licensee
under this Act, as the
Department may consider appropriate, including imposing fines not to exceed $10,000
for each violation and assess costs as provided for under Section 95 of this Act, for one or any combination of the following causes:
(1) Material misstatement in furnishing information
(2) Violation of this Act or rules adopted under this
(3) Conviction by plea of guilty or nolo contendere,
finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or sentencing, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation, under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States that is (i) a felony or (ii) a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or that is directly related to the practice of electrology.
(4) Fraud or misrepresentation in applying for or
procuring a license under this Act, or in connection with applying for renewal of a license under this Act.
(5) Aiding or assisting another person in violating
any provision of this Act or its rules.
(6) Failing to provide information within 60 days in
response to a written request made by the Department.
(7) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public.
(8) Habitual or excessive use or abuse of drugs
defined in law as controlled substances, alcohol, or any other substance that results in an electrologist's inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
(9) Discipline by another governmental agency, unit
of government, U.S. jurisdiction, or foreign nation if at least one of the grounds for discipline is the same as or substantially equivalent to any of those set forth in this Act.
(10) Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
from any person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association any fee, commission, rebate, or other form of compensation for any professional services not actually or personally rendered. Nothing in this paragraph (10) affects any bona fide independent contractor or employment arrangements among health care professionals, health facilities, health care providers, or other entities, except as otherwise prohibited by law. Any employment arrangements with health care providers may include provisions for compensation, health insurance, pension, or other employment benefits for the provision of services within the scope of the licensee's practice under this Act. Nothing in this paragraph (10) shall be construed to require an employment arrangement to receive professional fees for services rendered.
(11) A finding by the Department that the licensee,
after having his or her license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
(12) Abandonment of a patient.
(13) Willfully making or filing false records or
reports in the licensee's practice, including, but not limited to, false records filed with State agencies or departments.
(14) Mental or physical illness or disability,
including, but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skill that results in the inability to practice the profession with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
(15) Negligence in his or her practice under this Act.
(16) Use of fraud, deception, or any unlawful means
in applying for and securing a license as an electrologist.
(17) Immoral conduct in the commission of any act,
such as sexual abuse, sexual misconduct, or sexual exploitation, related to the licensee's practice.
(18) Failure to comply with standards of
sterilization and sanitation as defined in the rules of the Department.
(19) Charging for professional services not rendered,
including filing false statements for the collection of fees for which services are not rendered.
(20) Allowing one's license under this Act to be used
by an unlicensed person in violation of this Act.
(b) The Department may refuse to issue or renew or may suspend without hearing the
license of any person who fails to file a return, to pay the tax, penalty or
shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of the tax, penalty, or
interest as required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois Department
of Revenue until the requirements of the tax Act are satisfied in accordance with subsection (g) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of
Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
(c) The determination by a circuit court that a licensee is subject to
involuntary admission or judicial admission as provided in the Mental
Health and Developmental Disabilities Code
operates as an automatic suspension. The
suspension will end only upon a finding by a court that the patient is no
longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission, the issuance of
order so finding and discharging the patient, and the filing of a petition for restoration demonstrating fitness to practice.
(d) In enforcing this Section, the Department, upon a showing of a possible
violation, may compel any individual who is licensed to practice under this Act or any individual who has applied for licensure to submit to a mental or physical examination and evaluation, or both, that may include a substance abuse or sexual offender evaluation, at the expense of the Department. The Department shall specifically designate the examining physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches or, if applicable, the multidisciplinary team involved in providing the mental or physical examination and evaluation, or both. The multidisciplinary team shall be led by a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches and may consist of one or more or a combination of physicians licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches, licensed chiropractic physicians, licensed clinical psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, licensed clinical professional counselors, and other professional and administrative staff. Any examining physician or member of the multidisciplinary team may require any person ordered to submit to an examination and evaluation pursuant to this Section to submit to any additional supplemental testing deemed necessary to complete any examination or evaluation process, including, but not limited to, blood testing, urinalysis, psychological testing, or neuropsychological testing.
The Department may order the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team to provide to the Department any and all records, including business records, that relate to the examination and evaluation, including any supplemental testing performed. The Department may order the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team to present testimony concerning this examination and evaluation of the licensee, permit holder, or applicant, including testimony concerning any supplemental testing or documents relating to the examination and evaluation. No information, report, record, or other documents in any way related to the examination and evaluation shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communication between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team. No authorization is necessary from the licensee or applicant ordered to undergo an evaluation and examination for the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team to provide information, reports, records, or other documents or to provide any testimony regarding the examination and evaluation. The individual to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of the examination.
Failure of any individual to submit to mental or physical examination and evaluation, or both, when directed, shall result in an automatic suspension without hearing, until such time as the individual submits to the examination. If the Department finds a licensee unable to practice because of the reasons set forth in this Section, the Department shall require the licensee to submit to care, counseling, or treatment by physicians approved or designated by the Department as a condition for continued, reinstated, or renewed licensure to practice.
When the Secretary immediately suspends a license under this Section, a hearing upon the person's license must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department shall have the authority to review the licensee's record of treatment and counseling regarding the impairment to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
Individuals licensed under this Act affected under this Section shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department that they can resume practice in compliance with acceptable and prevailing standards under the provisions of their license.
(e) The Department shall deny a license or renewal authorized by this Act to a person who has defaulted on an educational loan or scholarship provided or guaranteed by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission or any governmental agency of this State in accordance with item (5) of subsection (a) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of
Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
(f) In cases where the Department of Healthcare and Family Services has previously determined a licensee or a potential licensee is more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support and has subsequently certified the delinquency to the Department, the Department may refuse to issue or renew or may revoke or suspend that person's license or may take other disciplinary action against that person based solely upon the certification of delinquency made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services in accordance with item (5) of subsection (a) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
(g) All fines or costs imposed under this Section shall be paid within 60 days after the effective date of the order imposing the fine or costs or in accordance with the terms set forth in the order imposing the fine.
(Source: P.A. 98-363, eff. 8-16-13.)