Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 335/9.1
(225 ILCS 335/9.1)
(from Ch. 111, par. 7509.1)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
Grounds for disciplinary action.
(1) The Department may refuse
to issue or to renew, or may revoke, suspend, place on probation, reprimand
or take other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper,
including fines not to exceed $10,000 for each violation, with regard to any
license for any one or combination of the following:
(a) violation of this Act or its rules;
(b) for licensees, conviction or plea of guilty or
nolo contendere, finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or sentencing of any crime, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation, under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States that is (i) a felony or (ii) a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty or that is directly related to the practice of the profession and, for initial applicants, convictions set forth in Section 7.1 of this Act;
(c) fraud or any misrepresentation in applying for or
procuring a license under this Act, or in connection with applying for renewal of a license under this Act;
(d) professional incompetence or gross negligence in
the practice of roofing contracting, prima facie evidence of which may be a conviction or judgment in any court of competent jurisdiction against an applicant or licensee relating to the practice of roofing contracting or the construction of a roof or repair thereof that results in leakage within 90 days after the completion of such work;
(f) aiding or assisting another person in violating
any provision of this Act or rules;
(g) failing, within 60 days, to provide information
in response to a written request made by the Department;
(h) engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public;
(i) habitual or excessive use or abuse of controlled
substances, as defined by the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, alcohol, or any other substance that results in the inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety;
(j) discipline by another state, unit of government,
or government agency, the District of Columbia, a territory, or a foreign nation, if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Section;
(k) directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
from any person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association any fee, commission, rebate, or other form of compensation for any professional services not actually or personally rendered;
(l) a finding by the Department that the licensee,
after having his or her license disciplined, has violated the terms of the discipline;
(m) a finding by any court of competent jurisdiction,
either within or without this State, of any violation of any law governing the practice of roofing contracting, if the Department determines, after investigation, that such person has not been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust;
(n) willfully making or filing false records or
reports in the practice of roofing contracting, including, but not limited to, false records filed with the State agencies or departments;
(o) practicing, attempting to practice, or
advertising under a name other than the full name as shown on the license or any other legally authorized name;
(p) gross and willful overcharging for professional
services including filing false statements for collection of fees or monies for which services are not rendered;
(s) failure to continue to meet the requirements of
this Act shall be deemed a violation;
(t) physical or mental disability, including
deterioration through the aging process or loss of abilities and skills that result in an inability to practice the profession with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety;
(u) material misstatement in furnishing information
to the Department or to any other State agency;
(w) advertising in any manner that is false,
misleading, or deceptive;
(x) taking undue advantage of a customer, which
results in the perpetration of a fraud;
(y) performing any act or practice that is a
violation of the Consumer Fraud and Deceptive Business Practices Act;
(z) engaging in the practice of roofing contracting,
as defined in this Act, with a suspended, revoked, or cancelled license;
(aa) treating any person differently to the person's
detriment because of race, color, creed, gender, age, religion, or national origin;
(bb) knowingly making any false statement, oral,
written, or otherwise, of a character likely to influence, persuade, or induce others in the course of obtaining or performing roofing contracting services;
(cc) violation of any final administrative action of
(dd) allowing the use of his or her roofing license
by an unlicensed roofing contractor for the purposes of providing roofing or waterproofing services; or
(ff) cheating or attempting to subvert a licensing
examination administered under this Act; or
(gg) use of a license to permit or enable an
unlicensed person to provide roofing contractor services.
(2) The determination by a circuit court that a license holder is subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission, as provided in the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code, operates as an automatic suspension. Such suspension will end only upon a finding by a court that the patient is no longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission, an order by the court so finding and discharging the patient, and the recommendation of the Board to the Director that the license holder be allowed to resume his or her practice.
(3) The Department may refuse to issue or take disciplinary action concerning the license of any person who fails to file a return, to pay the tax, penalty, or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest as required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of any such tax Act are satisfied as determined by the Department of Revenue.
(4) In enforcing this Section, the Department, upon a showing of a possible violation, may compel any individual who is licensed under this Act or any individual who has applied for licensure to submit to a mental or physical examination or evaluation, or both, which may include a substance abuse or sexual offender evaluation, at the expense of the Department. The Department shall specifically designate the examining physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches or, if applicable, the multidisciplinary team involved in providing the mental or physical examination and evaluation. The multidisciplinary team shall be led by a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches and may consist of one or more or a combination of physicians licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches, licensed chiropractic physicians, licensed clinical psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, licensed clinical professional counselors, and other professional and administrative staff. Any examining physician or member of the multidisciplinary team may require any person ordered to submit to an examination and evaluation pursuant to this Section to submit to any additional supplemental testing deemed necessary to complete any examination or evaluation process, including, but not limited to, blood testing, urinalysis, psychological testing, or neuropsychological testing.
(5) The Department may order the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team to provide to the Department any and all records, including business records, that relate to the examination and evaluation, including any supplemental testing performed. The Department may order the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team to present testimony concerning this examination and evaluation of the licensee or applicant, including testimony concerning any supplemental testing or documents relating to the examination and evaluation. No information, report, record, or other documents in any way related to the examination and evaluation shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communication between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team. No authorization is necessary from the licensee or applicant ordered to undergo an evaluation and examination for the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team to provide information, reports, records, or other documents or to provide any testimony regarding the examination and evaluation. The individual to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of the examination.
(6) Failure of any individual to submit to mental or physical examination or evaluation, or both, when directed, shall result in an automatic suspension without hearing until such time as the individual submits to the examination. If the Department finds a licensee unable to practice because of the reasons set forth in this Section, the Department shall require the licensee to submit to care, counseling, or treatment by physicians approved or designated by the Department as a condition for continued, reinstated, or renewed licensure.
(7) When the Secretary immediately suspends a license under this Section, a hearing upon such person's license must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department shall have the authority to review the licensee's record of treatment and counseling regarding the impairment to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
(8) Licensees affected under this Section shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department that they can resume practice in compliance with acceptable and prevailing standards under the provisions of their license.
(9) The Department shall deny a license or renewal authorized by this Act to a person who has defaulted on an educational loan or scholarship provided or guaranteed by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission or any governmental agency of this State in accordance with paragraph (5) of subsection (a) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
(10) In cases where the Department of Healthcare and Family Services has previously determined a licensee or a potential licensee is more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support and has subsequently certified the delinquency to the Department, the Department may refuse to issue or renew or may revoke or suspend that person's license or may take other disciplinary action against that person based solely upon the certification of delinquency made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services in accordance with paragraph (5) of subsection (a) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
The changes to this Act made by this amendatory Act of 1997 apply only
to disciplinary actions relating to events occurring after the effective date
this amendatory Act of 1997.
(Source: P.A. 99-469, eff. 8-26-15; 99-876, eff. 1-1-17