Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 330/27
(225 ILCS 330/27)
(from Ch. 111, par. 3277)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
Grounds for disciplinary action.
(a) The Department may refuse to
issue or renew a license,
or may place on probation or administrative supervision, suspend, or revoke any license, or may reprimand or take any disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper, including the imposition of fines not to
exceed $10,000 per violation, upon any person, corporation, partnership, or professional land
surveying firm licensed or registered under this Act for any
of the following reasons:
(1) material misstatement in furnishing information
(2) violation, including, but not limited to, neglect
or intentional disregard, of this Act, or its rules;
(3) conviction of, or entry of a plea of guilty or
nolo contendere to, any crime that is a felony under the laws of the United States or any state or territory thereof or that is a misdemeanor of which an essential element is dishonesty, or any crime that is directly related to the practice of the profession;
(4) making any misrepresentation for the purpose of
obtaining a license, or in applying for restoration or renewal, or the practice of any fraud or deceit in taking any examination to qualify for licensure under this Act;
(5) purposefully making false statements or signing
false statements, certificates, or affidavits to induce payment;
(6) proof of carelessness, incompetence, negligence,
or misconduct in practicing land surveying;
(7) aiding or assisting another person in violating
any provision of this Act or its rules;
(8) failing to provide information in response to a
written request made by the Department within 30 days after receipt of such written request;
(9) engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public;
(10) inability to practice with reasonable judgment,
skill, or safety as a result of habitual or excessive use of, or addiction to, alcohol, narcotics, stimulants or any other chemical agent or drug;
(11) discipline by the United States government,
another state, District of Columbia, territory, foreign nation or government agency if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Act;
(12) directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
from any person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association any fee, commission, rebate, or other form of compensation for any professional services not actually or personally rendered;
(12.5) issuing a map or plat of survey where the fee
for professional services is contingent on a real estate transaction closing;
(13) a finding by the Department that an applicant or
licensee has failed to pay a fine imposed by the Department or a licensee whose license has been placed on probationary status has violated the terms of probation;
(14) practicing on an expired, inactive, suspended,
(15) signing, affixing the Professional Land
Surveyor's seal or permitting the Professional Land Surveyor's seal to be affixed to any map or plat of survey not prepared by the Professional Land Surveyor or under the Professional Land Surveyor's direct supervision and control;
(16) inability to practice the profession with
reasonable judgment, skill, or safety as a result of physical illness, including, but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skill or a mental illness or disability;
(17) (blank); or
(18) failure to adequately supervise or control land
surveying operations being performed by subordinates.
(a-5) In enforcing this Section, the Department or Board, upon a showing of a possible violation, may compel a person licensed to practice under this Act, or who has applied for licensure or certification pursuant to this Act, to submit to a mental or physical examination, or both, as required by and at the expense of the Department. The Department or Board may order the examining physician to present testimony concerning the mental or physical examination of the licensee or applicant. No information shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician. The examining physicians shall be specifically designated by the Board or Department. The individual to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of the examination. Failure of an individual to submit to a mental or physical examination when directed shall be grounds for the immediate suspension of his or her license until the individual submits to the examination if the Department finds that the refusal to submit to the examination was without reasonable cause as defined by rule.
If the Secretary immediately suspends the license of a licensee for his or her failure to submit to a mental or physical examination when directed, a hearing must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay.
If the Secretary otherwise suspends a person's license pursuant to the results of a compelled mental or physical examination, a hearing on that person's license must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department and Board shall have the authority to review the subject individual's record of treatment and counseling regarding impairment to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
Any licensee suspended under this subsection (a-5) shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department or Board that he or she can resume practice in compliance with the acceptable and prevailing standards under the provisions of his or her license.
(b) The determination by a circuit court that a licensee is subject to
involuntary admission or judicial admission as provided in the Mental
Health and Developmental Disabilities Code, as
now or hereafter amended, operates as an automatic license suspension. Such
suspension will end only upon a finding by a court that the patient is no
longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission and the
issuance of an order so finding and discharging the patient and upon the
recommendation of the Board to the Director that the licensee be allowed to
resume his or her practice.
(d) In cases where the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly the Department of Public Aid) has previously determined that a licensee or a potential licensee is more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support and has subsequently certified the delinquency to the Department, the Department shall refuse to issue or renew or shall revoke or suspend that person's license or shall take other disciplinary action against that person based solely upon the certification of delinquency made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services in accordance with subdivision (a)(5) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois (20 ILCS 2105/2105-15).
(e) The Department shall refuse to issue or renew or shall revoke or suspend a person's license or shall take other disciplinary action against that person for his or her failure to file a return, to pay the tax, penalty, or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest as required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of the tax Act are satisfied in accordance with subsection (g) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois (20 ILCS 2105/2105-15).
(Source: P.A. 100-872, eff. 8-14-18.)