Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 320/10)
(from Ch. 111, par. 1109)
(1) An applicant for a plumber's license shall file a written
application in the office of the Department on the form designated by the
Department at least 30 days before the date set by the Department for the
(2) The Director shall promptly approve the application for examination if:
(a) the required application fee has been paid, and
(b) (blank), and
(c) the applicant has submitted evidence that he or
she has completed at least a 2 year course of study in a high school, or an equivalent course of study, and
(d) the applicant has been employed as an Illinois
licensed apprentice plumber under supervision in accordance with this Act for at least 4 years preceding the date of application and has submitted evidence that he or she has worked at the plumbing trade in accordance with this Act for the 4 year Illinois licensed apprentice plumber apprenticeship period, or
(e) the applicant has submitted evidence that he or
she has successfully completed an approved course of instruction in plumbing supervised directly by an Illinois licensed plumber in colleges, universities, or trade schools.
(3) If the application for examination is approved, the Department shall
promptly notify the applicant in writing of such approval and of the place
and time of the examination. If the application is disapproved, the Department
shall promptly notify the applicant in writing of such disapproval, stating
the reasons for disapproval.
(4) If an applicant neglects, fails or refuses to take an examination
for license under this Act, the application is denied. However, such
applicant may submit a new application for examination, accompanied by the
required application fee. Application fees for examination for a plumber's
license are not refundable.
(Source: P.A. 101-541, eff. 8-23-19.)