Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 115/25
(225 ILCS 115/25)
(from Ch. 111, par. 7025)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
1. The Department may refuse to issue or renew, or may revoke,
suspend, place on probation, reprimand, or take other disciplinary or non-disciplinary
action as the Department may deem appropriate, including imposing fines not to
exceed $10,000 for each violation and the assessment of costs as provided for in Section 25.3 of this Act, with regard to any
license or certificate for any one or combination of the following:
A. Material misstatement in furnishing information to
B. Violations of this Act, or of the rules adopted
C. Conviction by plea of guilty or nolo contendere,
finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or by sentencing of any crime, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation, under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States that is (i) a felony or (ii) a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or that is directly related to the practice of the profession.
D. Fraud or any misrepresentation in applying for or
procuring a license under this Act or in connection with applying for renewal of a license under this Act.
E. Professional incompetence.
G. Aiding or assisting another person in violating
any provision of this Act or rules.
H. Failing, within 60 days, to provide information in
response to a written request made by the Department.
I. Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public.
J. Habitual or excessive use or abuse of drugs
defined in law as controlled substances, alcohol, or any other substance that results in the inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
K. Discipline by another state, unit of government,
government agency, District of Columbia, territory, or foreign nation, if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth herein.
L. Charging for professional services not rendered,
including filing false statements for the collection of fees for which services are not rendered.
M. A finding by the Board that the licensee or
certificate holder, after having his license or certificate placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
N. Willfully making or filing false records or
reports in his practice, including but not limited to false records filed with State agencies or departments.
O. Physical illness, including but not limited to,
deterioration through the aging process, or loss of motor skill which results in the inability to practice under this Act with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
P. Solicitation of professional services other than
Q. Allowing one's license under this Act to be used
by an unlicensed person in violation of this Act.
R. Conviction of or cash compromise of a charge or
violation of the Harrison Act or the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, regulating narcotics.
S. Fraud or dishonesty in applying, treating, or
reporting on tuberculin or other biological tests.
T. Failing to report, as required by law, or making
false report of any contagious or infectious diseases.
U. Fraudulent use or misuse of any health
certificate, shipping certificate, brand inspection certificate, or other blank forms used in practice that might lead to the dissemination of disease or the transportation of diseased animals dead or alive; or dilatory methods, willful neglect, or misrepresentation in the inspection of milk, meat, poultry, and the by-products thereof.
V. Conviction on a charge of cruelty to animals.
W. Failure to keep one's premises and all equipment
therein in a clean and sanitary condition.
X. Failure to provide satisfactory proof of having
participated in approved continuing education programs.
Y. Mental illness or disability that results in the
inability to practice under this Act with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
Z. Conviction by any court of competent jurisdiction,
either within or outside this State, of any violation of any law governing the practice of veterinary medicine, if the Department determines, after investigation, that the person has not been sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant the public trust.
AA. Promotion of the sale of drugs, devices,
appliances, or goods provided for a patient in any manner to exploit the client for financial gain of the veterinarian.
BB. Gross, willful, or continued overcharging for
CC. Practicing under a false or, except as provided
DD. Violating state or federal laws or regulations
relating to controlled substances or legend drugs.
EE. Cheating on or attempting to subvert the
licensing examination administered under this Act.
FF. Using, prescribing, or selling a prescription
drug or the extra-label use of a prescription drug by any means in the absence of a valid veterinarian-client-patient relationship.
GG. Failing to report a case of suspected aggravated
cruelty, torture, or animal fighting pursuant to Section 3.07 or 4.01 of the Humane Care for Animals Act or Section 26-5 or 48-1 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012.
All fines imposed under this Section shall be paid within 60 days after the effective date of the order imposing the fine or in accordance with the terms set forth in the order imposing the fine.
2. The determination by a circuit court that a licensee or certificate
holder is subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission as provided in
the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code operates as an automatic
suspension. The suspension will end only upon a finding by a court that the
patient is no longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission and
issues an order so finding and discharging the patient. In any case where a license is suspended under this provision, the licensee shall file a petition for restoration and shall include evidence acceptable to the Department that the licensee can resume practice in compliance with acceptable and prevailing standards of his or her profession.
3. All proceedings to suspend, revoke, place on probationary status, or
take any other disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper, with
regard to a license or certificate on any of the foregoing grounds, must be
commenced within 5 years after receipt by the Department of a complaint
alleging the commission of or notice of the conviction order for any of the
acts described in this Section. Except for proceedings brought for violations
of items (CC), (DD), or (EE), no action shall be commenced more than 5 years
after the date of the incident or act alleged to have violated this Section.
In the event of the settlement of any claim or cause of action in favor of the
claimant or the reduction to final judgment of any civil action in favor of the
plaintiff, the claim, cause of action, or civil action being grounded on the
allegation that a person licensed or certified under this Act was negligent in
providing care, the Department shall have an additional period of one year from
the date of the settlement or final judgment in which to investigate and begin
formal disciplinary proceedings under Section 25.2 of this Act, except as
otherwise provided by law. The time during which the holder of the license or
certificate was outside the State of Illinois shall not be included within any
period of time limiting the commencement of disciplinary action by the
4. The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend without hearing, as provided for in the Illinois Code of Civil Procedure,
the license of any person who fails to file a return, to pay the tax, penalty,
shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or
required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue, until such
the requirements of any such tax Act are satisfied in accordance with subsection (g) of Section 2105-15 of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
5. In enforcing this Section, the Department, upon a showing of a possible violation, may compel any individual who is registered under this Act or any individual who has applied for registration to submit to a mental or physical examination or evaluation, or both, which may include a substance abuse or sexual offender evaluation, at the expense of the Department. The Department shall specifically designate the examining physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches or, if applicable, the multidisciplinary team involved in providing the mental or physical examination and evaluation. The multidisciplinary team shall be led by a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches and may consist of one or more or a combination of physicians licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches, licensed chiropractic physicians, licensed clinical psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, licensed clinical professional counselors, and other professional and administrative staff. Any examining physician or member of the multidisciplinary team may require any person ordered to submit to an examination and evaluation pursuant to this Section to submit to any additional supplemental testing deemed necessary to complete any examination or evaluation process, including, but not limited to, blood testing, urinalysis, psychological testing, or neuropsychological testing.
The Department may order the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team to provide to the Department any and all records, including business records, that relate to the examination and evaluation, including any supplemental testing performed. The Department may order the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team to present testimony concerning this examination and evaluation of the registrant or applicant, including testimony concerning any supplemental testing or documents relating to the examination and evaluation. No information, report, record, or other documents in any way related to the examination and evaluation shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communication between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team. No authorization is necessary from the registrant or applicant ordered to undergo an evaluation and examination for the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team to provide information, reports, records, or other documents or to provide any testimony regarding the examination and evaluation. The individual to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of the examination.
Failure of any individual to submit to mental or physical examination or evaluation, or both, when directed, shall result in an automatic suspension without hearing, until such time as the individual submits to the examination. If the Department finds a registrant unable to practice because of the reasons set forth in this Section, the Department shall require such registrant to submit to care, counseling, or treatment by physicians approved or designated by the Department as a condition for continued, reinstated, or renewed registration.
In instances in which the Secretary immediately suspends a registration under this Section, a hearing upon such person's registration must be convened by the Department within 15 days after such suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department shall have the authority to review the registrant's record of treatment and counseling regarding the impairment to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
Individuals registered under this Act who are affected under this Section, shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department that they can resume practice in compliance with acceptable and prevailing standards under the provisions of their registration.
6. The Department shall deny a license or renewal authorized by this Act to a person who has defaulted on an educational loan or scholarship provided or guaranteed by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission or any governmental agency of this State in accordance with paragraph (5) of subsection (a) of Section 2105-15 of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
7. In cases where the Department of Healthcare and Family Services has previously determined a licensee or a potential licensee is more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support and has subsequently certified the delinquency to the Department, the Department may refuse to issue or renew or may revoke or suspend that person's license or may take other disciplinary action against that person based solely upon the certification of delinquency made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services in accordance with paragraph (5) of subsection (a) of Section 2105-15 of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
(Source: P.A. 98-339, eff. 12-31-13; 99-78, eff. 7-20-15.)