Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 65/60-10

    (225 ILCS 65/60-10)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 60-10. RN licensure by examination.
    (a) Each applicant who successfully meets the requirements of this Section is eligible for licensure as a registered professional nurse.
    (b) An applicant for licensure by examination to practice as a registered professional nurse is eligible for licensure when the following requirements are met:
        (1) the applicant has submitted a completed written
    
application, on forms provided by the Department, and fees, as established by the Department;
        (2) the applicant has graduated from a professional
    
nursing education program approved by the Department or has been granted a certificate of completion of pre-licensure requirements from another United States jurisdiction;
        (3) the applicant has successfully completed a
    
licensure examination approved by the Department;
        (4) (blank);
        (5) the applicant has submitted to the criminal
    
history records check required under Section 50-35 of this Act;
        (6) the applicant has submitted, either to the
    
Department or its designated testing service, a fee covering the cost of providing the examination; failure to appear for the examination on the scheduled date at the time and place specified after the applicant's application for examination has been received and acknowledged by the Department or the designated testing service shall result in the forfeiture of the examination fee; and
        (7) the applicant has met all other requirements
    
established by the Department by rule.
    An applicant for licensure by examination may take the Department-approved examination in another jurisdiction.
    (b-5) If an applicant for licensure by examination neglects, fails, or refuses to take an examination or fails to pass an examination for a license within 3 years of the date of initial application, the application shall be denied. When an applicant's application is denied due to the failure to pass the examination within the 3-year period, that applicant must undertake an additional course of education as defined by rule prior to submitting a new application for licensure. Any new application must be accompanied by the required fee, evidence of meeting the requirements in force at the time of the new application, and evidence of completion of the additional course of education prescribed by rule.
    (c) An applicant for licensure by examination shall have one year after the date of notification of the successful completion of the examination to apply to the Department for a license. If an applicant fails to apply within one year, the applicant shall be required to retake and pass the examination unless licensed in another jurisdiction of the United States.
    (d) An applicant for licensure by examination who passes the Department-approved licensure examination for professional nursing may obtain employment as a license-pending registered nurse and practice under the direction of a registered professional nurse or an advanced practice registered nurse until such time as he or she receives his or her license to practice or until the license is denied. In no instance shall any such applicant practice or be employed in any management capacity. An individual may be employed as a license-pending registered nurse if all of the following criteria are met:
        (1) He or she has completed and passed the
    
Department-approved licensure exam and presents to the employer the official written notification indicating successful passage of the licensure examination.
        (2) He or she has completed and submitted to the
    
Department an application for licensure under this Section as a registered professional nurse.
        (3) He or she has submitted the required licensure
    
fee.
        (4) He or she has met all other requirements
    
established by rule, including having submitted to a criminal history records check.
    (e) The privilege to practice as a license-pending registered nurse shall terminate with the occurrence of any of the following:
        (1) Three months have passed since the official date
    
of passing the licensure exam as inscribed on the formal written notification indicating passage of the exam. The 3-month license pending period may be extended if more time is needed by the Department to process the licensure application.
        (2) Receipt of the registered professional nurse
    
license from the Department.
        (3) Notification from the Department that the
    
application for licensure has been refused.
        (4) A request by the Department that the individual
    
terminate practicing as a license-pending registered nurse until an official decision is made by the Department to grant or deny a registered professional nurse license.
    (f) (Blank).
    (g) (Blank).
    (h) (Blank).
    (i) (Blank).
    (j) (Blank).
    (k) All applicants for registered professional nurse licensure have 3 years after the date of application to complete the application process. If the process has not been completed within 3 years after the date of application, the application shall be denied, the fee forfeited, and the applicant must reapply and meet the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication.
    (l) All applicants for registered nurse licensure by examination who are graduates of practical nursing educational programs in a country other than the United States and its territories shall have their nursing education credentials evaluated by a Department-approved nursing credentialing evaluation service. No such applicant may be issued a license under this Act unless the applicant's program is deemed by the nursing credentialing evaluation service to be equivalent to a professional nursing education program approved by the Department. An applicant who has graduated from a nursing educational program outside of the United States or its territories and whose first language is not English shall submit evidence of English proficiency, as defined by rule.
    (m) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18.)