Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 60/36

    (225 ILCS 60/36) (from Ch. 111, par. 4400-36)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on December 31, 2019)
    Sec. 36. Investigation; notice.
    (a) Upon the motion of either the Department or the Disciplinary Board or upon the verified complaint in writing of any person setting forth facts which, if proven, would constitute grounds for suspension or revocation under Section 22 of this Act, the Department shall investigate the actions of any person, so accused, who holds or represents that they hold a license. Such person is hereinafter called the accused.
    (b) The Department shall, before suspending, revoking, placing on probationary status, or taking any other disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper with regard to any license at least 30 days prior to the date set for the hearing, notify the accused in writing of any charges made and the time and place for a hearing of the charges before the Disciplinary Board, direct them to file their written answer thereto to the Disciplinary Board under oath within 20 days after the service on them of such notice and inform them that if they fail to file such answer default will be taken against them and their license may be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or have other disciplinary action, including limiting the scope, nature or extent of their practice, as the Department may deem proper taken with regard thereto. The Department shall, at least 14 days prior to the date set for the hearing, notify in writing any person who filed a complaint against the accused of the time and place for the hearing of the charges against the accused before the Disciplinary Board and inform such person whether he or she may provide testimony at the hearing.
    (c) Where a physician has been found, upon complaint and investigation of the Department, and after hearing, to have performed an abortion procedure in a wilful and wanton manner upon a woman who was not pregnant at the time such abortion procedure was performed, the Department shall automatically revoke the license of such physician to practice medicine in Illinois.
    (d) Such written notice and any notice in such proceedings thereafter may be served by delivery of the same, personally, to the accused person, or by mailing the same by registered or certified mail to the accused person's address of record.
    (e) All information gathered by the Department during its investigation including information subpoenaed under Section 23 or 38 of this Act and the investigative file shall be kept for the confidential use of the Secretary, Disciplinary Board, the Medical Coordinators, persons employed by contract to advise the Medical Coordinator or the Department, the Disciplinary Board's attorneys, the medical investigative staff, and authorized clerical staff, as provided in this Act and shall be afforded the same status as is provided information concerning medical studies in Part 21 of Article VIII of the Code of Civil Procedure, except that the Department may disclose information and documents to a federal, State, or local law enforcement agency pursuant to a subpoena in an ongoing criminal investigation to a health care licensing body of this State or another state or jurisdiction pursuant to an official request made by that licensing body. Furthermore, information and documents disclosed to a federal, State, or local law enforcement agency may be used by that agency only for the investigation and prosecution of a criminal offense or, in the case of disclosure to a health care licensing body, only for investigations and disciplinary action proceedings with regard to a license issued by that licensing body.
(Source: P.A. 97-449, eff. 1-1-12; 97-622, eff. 11-23-11; 98-1140, eff. 12-30-14.)