Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 20/19
(225 ILCS 20/19)
(from Ch. 111, par. 6369)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
Grounds for disciplinary action.
(1) The Department may refuse to issue or renew a license, or may suspend,
revoke, place on probation, reprimand, or take
any other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action deemed appropriate by the Department, including the
imposition of fines not to exceed $10,000
for each violation, with regard to any
license issued under the provisions of this Act for any one or a combination of
the following grounds:
(a) material misstatements in furnishing information
to the Department or to any other State agency or in furnishing information to any insurance company with respect to a claim on behalf of a licensee or a patient;
(b) violations or negligent or intentional disregard
of this Act, or any of the rules promulgated hereunder;
(c) conviction of or entry of a plea of guilty or
nolo contendere, finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or sentencing, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation, under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States that is (i) a felony or (ii) a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or that is directly related to the practice of the clinical social work or social work professions;
(d) fraud or misrepresentation in applying for or
procuring a license under this Act or in connection with applying for renewal or restoration of a license under this Act;
(e) professional incompetence;
(f) gross negligence in practice under this Act;
(g) aiding or assisting another person in violating
any provision of this Act or its rules;
(h) failing to provide information within 60 days in
response to a written request made by the Department;
(i) engaging in dishonorable, unethical or
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public as defined by the rules of the Department, or violating the rules of professional conduct adopted by the Department;
(j) habitual or excessive use or abuse of drugs
defined in law as controlled substances, of alcohol, or of any other substances that results in the inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety;
(k) adverse action taken by another state or
jurisdiction, if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Section;
(l) directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
from any person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association any fee, commission, rebate or other form of compensation for any professional service not actually rendered. Nothing in this paragraph (l) affects any bona fide independent contractor or employment arrangements among health care professionals, health facilities, health care providers, or other entities, except as otherwise prohibited by law. Any employment arrangements may include provisions for compensation, health insurance, pension, or other employment benefits for the provision of services within the scope of the licensee's practice under this Act. Nothing in this paragraph (l) shall be construed to require an employment arrangement to receive professional fees for services rendered;
(m) a finding by the Department that the licensee,
after having the license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation or failed to comply with such terms;
(n) abandonment, without cause, of a client;
(o) willfully making or filing false records or
reports relating to a licensee's practice, including, but not limited to, false records filed with Federal or State agencies or departments;
(p) willfully failing to report an instance of
suspected child abuse or neglect as required by the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act;
(q) being named as a perpetrator in an indicated
report by the Department of Children and Family Services under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, and upon proof by clear and convincing evidence that the licensee has caused a child to be an abused child or neglected child as defined in the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act;
(r) physical illness, mental illness, or any other
impairment or disability, including, but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process, or loss of motor skills that results in the inability to practice the profession with reasonable judgment, skill or safety;
(s) solicitation of professional services by using
false or misleading advertising;
(t) violation of the Health Care Worker Self-Referral
(u) willfully failing to report an instance of
suspected abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, or self-neglect of an eligible adult as defined in and required by the Adult Protective Services Act; or
(v) being named as an abuser in a verified report
by the Department on Aging under the Adult Protective Services Act, and upon proof by clear and convincing evidence that the licensee abused, neglected, or financially exploited an eligible adult as defined in the Adult Protective Services Act.
(3) The determination by a court that a licensee is subject to
admission or judicial admission as provided in the Mental Health and
Developmental Disabilities Code, will result in an automatic suspension of his
license. Such suspension will end upon a finding by a court that the licensee
is no longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission and issues
an order so finding and discharging the patient, and upon the recommendation of
the Board to the Secretary that the licensee be allowed to resume professional
(4) The Department shall refuse to issue or renew or may suspend the license of a
person who (i) fails to file a return, pay the tax, penalty, or interest shown in a
filed return, or pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest, as
required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue,
until the requirements of the tax Act are satisfied or (ii) has failed to pay any court-ordered child support as determined by a court order or by
referral from the Department of Healthcare and Family Services.
(5)(a) In enforcing this Section, the Department or Board, upon a showing of a possible
violation, may compel a person licensed to practice under this Act, or
who has applied for licensure under this Act, to submit
to a mental or physical examination, or both, which may include a substance abuse or sexual offender evaluation, as required by and at the expense
of the Department.
(b) The Department shall specifically designate the examining physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches or, if applicable, the multidisciplinary team involved in providing the mental or physical examination or both. The multidisciplinary team shall be led by a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches and may consist of one or more or a combination of physicians licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches, licensed clinical psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, licensed clinical professional counselors, and other professional and administrative staff. Any examining physician or member of the multidisciplinary team may require any person ordered to submit to an examination pursuant to this Section to submit to any additional supplemental testing deemed necessary to complete any examination or evaluation process, including, but not limited to, blood testing, urinalysis, psychological testing, or neuropsychological testing.
(c) The Board or the Department may order the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team
to present testimony concerning this mental or physical
of the licensee or applicant. No information, report, record, or other documents in any way related to the examination shall be excluded by reason of
any common law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the
licensee or applicant and the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team.
No authorization is necessary from the licensee or applicant ordered to undergo an examination for the examining physician or any member of the multidisciplinary team to provide information, reports, records, or other documents or to provide any testimony regarding the examination and evaluation.
(d) The person to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another
physician of his or her choice present during all
aspects of the examination. However, that physician shall be present only to observe and may not interfere in any way with the examination.
(e) Failure of any person to submit to a mental or
physical examination without reasonable cause, when ordered, shall result in an automatic suspension of his or her
license until the person submits to the examination.
(f) If the Department or Board finds a person unable to practice because of the reasons
set forth in this Section, the Department or Board may require that person to submit to
care, counseling, or treatment by physicians
or designated by the Department or Board, as a condition, term, or restriction for continued,
renewed licensure to practice; or, in lieu of care, counseling or treatment,
the Department may file, or the
Board may recommend to the Department to file, a complaint to immediately
suspend, revoke, or otherwise discipline the license of the person.
Any person whose
license was granted, continued, reinstated, renewed, disciplined or supervised
subject to such terms, conditions or restrictions, and who fails to comply with
such terms, conditions, or restrictions, shall be referred to the Secretary for
determination as to whether the person shall have his or her license
suspended immediately, pending a hearing by the Department.
(g) All fines imposed shall be paid within 60 days after the effective date of the order imposing the fine or in accordance with the terms set forth in the order imposing the fine.
In instances in which the Secretary immediately suspends a person's license
under this Section, a hearing on that person's license must be convened by
the Department within 30 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable
The Department and Board shall have the authority to review the subject person's record of
treatment and counseling regarding the impairment, to the extent permitted by
applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of
A person licensed under this Act and affected under this Section shall
afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department or Board that he or she can resume
practice in compliance with acceptable and prevailing standards under the
provisions of his or her license.
(Source: P.A. 100-414, eff. 8-25-17.)