Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

210 ILCS 40/5

    (210 ILCS 40/5) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4160-5)
    Sec. 5. (a) At the time of or prior to the execution of a life care contract and the transfer of any money or other property to a provider or escrow agent, the provider shall deliver to the resident a copy of a financial disclosure statement reflecting the provider's financial condition. This statement shall include, but not be limited to, disclosure of short term assets and liabilities.
    (b) The life care contract shall provide that any person entering into the contract shall have a period of 14 days beginning with the first full calendar day following the execution of the contract, or the payment of an initial sum of money as a deposit or application fee, or receipt of the financial disclosure statement, whichever occurs last, within which to rescind the life care contract without penalty or further obligation. In the event of such rescission, all money or property paid or transferred by such person shall be fully refunded. No person shall be required to move into a facility until after the expiration of the 14 day rescission period. No permit shall be issued under this Act if the form of life care contract attached as an exhibit in support of the application for permit as provided in Section 4 does not contain the provisions required by this paragraph (b).
(Source: P.A. 82-547.)