Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
55 ILCS 5/4-2002
(55 ILCS 5/4-2002)
(from Ch. 34, par. 4-2002)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on July 1, 2019)
State's attorney fees in counties under 3,000,000
This Section applies only to counties with fewer than
(a) State's attorneys shall be entitled to the following fees, however, the
fee requirement of this subsection does not apply to county boards:
For each conviction in prosecutions on indictments for first degree murder,
second degree murder, involuntary manslaughter, criminal sexual assault,
aggravated criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual abuse,
kidnapping, arson and forgery, $30. All other cases punishable by imprisonment
in the penitentiary, $30.
For each conviction in other cases tried before judges of the circuit
court, $15; except that if the conviction is in a case which may be
assigned to an associate judge, whether or not it is in fact assigned to
an associate judge, the fee shall be $10.
For preliminary examinations for each defendant held to bail or
For each examination of a party bound over to keep the peace, $10.
For each defendant held to answer in a circuit court on a charge of
For each trial on a charge of paternity, $30.
For each case of appeal taken from his county or from the county to
which a change of venue is taken to his county to the Supreme or
Appellate Court when prosecuted or defended by him, $50.
For each day actually employed in the trial of a case, $25; in which
case the court before whom the case is tried shall make an order
specifying the number of days for which a per diem shall be allowed.
For each day actually employed in the trial of cases of felony
arising in their respective counties and taken by change of venue to
another county, $25; and the court before whom the case is tried shall
make an order specifying the number of days for which said per diem
shall be allowed; and it is hereby made the duty of each State's
attorney to prepare and try each case of felony arising when so taken by
change of venue.
For assisting in a trial of each case on an indictment for felony
brought by change of venue to their respective counties, the same fees
they would be entitled to if such indictment had been found for an
offense committed in his county, and it shall be the duty of the
State's attorney of the county to which such cause is taken by
change of venue to assist in the trial thereof.
For each case of forfeited recognizance where the forfeiture is set
aside at the instance of the defense, in addition to the ordinary costs,
$10 for each defendant.
For each proceeding in a circuit court to inquire into the alleged
mental illness of any person, $10 for each defendant.
For each proceeding in a circuit court to inquire into the alleged
dependency or delinquency of any child, $10.
For each day actually employed in the hearing of a case of habeas
corpus in which the people are interested, $25.
For each violation of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012 and the Illinois Vehicle Code in which a defendant has entered a plea of guilty or a defendant has stipulated to the facts supporting the charge or a finding of guilt and the court has entered an order of supervision, $10.
State's attorneys shall be entitled to a $2 fee to be paid by the defendant on a judgment of guilty or a grant of supervision for a violation of any provision of the Illinois Vehicle Code or any felony, misdemeanor, or petty offense to discharge the expenses of the State's Attorney's office for establishing and maintaining automated record keeping systems. The fee shall be remitted monthly to the county treasurer, to be deposited by him or her into a special fund designated as the State's Attorney Records Automation Fund. Expenditures from this fund may be made by the State's Attorney for hardware, software, research, and development costs and personnel related thereto.
All the foregoing fees shall be taxed as costs to be collected from
the defendant, if possible, upon conviction. But in cases of inquiry
into the mental illness of any person alleged to be mentally ill, in
cases on a charge of paternity and in cases of appeal in the Supreme or
Appellate Court, where judgment is in favor of the accused, the fees
allowed the State's attorney therein shall be retained out of the fines
and forfeitures collected by them in other cases.
Ten per cent of all moneys except revenue, collected by them and paid
over to the authorities entitled thereto, which per cent together with
the fees provided for herein that are not collected from the parties
tried or examined, shall be paid out of any fines and forfeited
recognizances collected by them, provided however, that in proceedings
to foreclose the lien of delinquent real estate taxes State's attorneys
shall receive a fee, to be credited to the earnings of their office, of 10%
of the total amount realized from the sale of real estate sold in such
proceedings. Such fees shall be paid from the total amount realized from
the sale of the real estate sold in such proceedings.
State's attorneys shall have a lien for their fees on all judgments
for fines or forfeitures procured by them and on moneys except revenue
received by them until such fees and earnings are fully paid.
No fees shall be charged on more than 10 counts in any one indictment
or information on trial and conviction; nor on more than 10 counts
against any one defendant on pleas of guilty.
The Circuit Court may direct that of all monies received, by
restitution or otherwise, which monies are ordered paid to the
Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid) or the Department of Human Services (acting as
successor to the Department of Public Aid under the Department of Human
Services Act) as a direct result of the efforts
State's attorney and which payments arise from Civil or Criminal
prosecutions involving the Illinois Public Aid Code or the Criminal Code,
following amounts shall be paid quarterly by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services or the Department of Human Services to the General Corporate Fund of
the County in which the prosecution
or cause of action took place:
(1) where the monies result from child support
obligations, not more than 25% of the federal share of the monies received,
(2) where the monies result from other than child
support obligations, not more than 25% of the State's share of the monies received.
In addition to any other amounts to which State's Attorneys are entitled under this Section, State's Attorneys are entitled to $10 of the fine that is imposed under Section 5-9-1.17 of the Unified Code of Corrections, as set forth in that Section.
(b) A municipality shall be entitled to a $25 prosecution fee for each
conviction for a violation of the Illinois Vehicle Code prosecuted by the
municipal attorney pursuant to Section 16-102 of that Code which results in a finding of guilt
before a circuit or associate judge or in which a defendant has stipulated to the facts supporting the charge or a finding of guilt and the court has entered an order of supervision and shall be entitled to a $25
prosecution fee for each conviction for a violation of a municipal vehicle
ordinance or nontraffic ordinance which results in a finding of guilt before a circuit or associate judge or in which a defendant has stipulated to the facts supporting the charge or a finding of guilt and the court has entered an order of supervision. Such fee shall be taxed as
costs to be collected from the defendant, if possible, upon disposition of the case. A
municipality shall have a lien for such prosecution fees on all judgments or
fines procured by the municipal attorney from prosecutions for violations of
the Illinois Vehicle Code and municipal vehicle ordinances or nontraffic
For the purposes of this subsection (b), "municipal vehicle ordinance"
means any ordinance enacted pursuant to Sections 11-40-1, 11-40-2, 11-40-2a and
11-40-3 of the Illinois Municipal Code or any ordinance enacted by a
municipality which is similar to a provision of Chapter 11 of the Illinois
(Source: P.A. 96-707, eff. 1-1-10; 96-1186, eff. 7-22-10; 97-331, eff. 8-12-11; 97-673, eff. 6-1-12; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13. Repealed by P.A. 100-987, eff. 7-1-19.)