Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

50 ILCS 750/15.8

    (50 ILCS 750/15.8)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on December 31, 2020)
    Sec. 15.8. 9-1-1 dialing from a business.
    (a) Any entity that installs or operates a private business switch service and provides telecommunications facilities or services to businesses shall ensure that all systems installed on or after July 1, 2015 (the effective date of Public Act 98-875) are connected to the public switched network in a manner such that when a user dials "9-1-1", the emergency call connects to the 9-1-1 system without first dialing any number or set of numbers.
    (b) The requirements of this Section do not apply to:
        (1) any entity certified by the Illinois Commerce
    
Commission to operate a Private Emergency Answering Point as defined in 83 Ill. Adm. Code 726.105; or
        (2) correctional institutions and facilities as
    
defined in subsection (d) of Section 3-1-2 of the Unified Code of Corrections.
    (c) An entity that violates this Section is guilty of a business offense and shall be fined not less than $1,000 and not more than $5,000.
(Source: P.A. 99-6, eff. 1-1-16; 100-20, eff. 7-1-17.)