Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(50 ILCS 710/2)
(from Ch. 85, par. 516)
Training course for peace officers and probation officers.
(a) Successful completion of a 40 hour course of training in use of a
suitable type firearm shall be a condition precedent to the possession and use
of that respective firearm by any peace officer or probation officer in this State in connection
with the officer's official duties. The training must be approved by the
Illinois Law Enforcement Training Standards Board ("the
Board") and may be given in logical segments but must be completed by a peace officer within 6
months from the date of the officer's initial employment and by a probation officer before possession and use of a firearm in connection with the probation officer's official duties. To satisfy the
requirements of this Act, the training must include the following:
(1) Instruction in the dangers of misuse of the
firearm, safety rules, and care and cleaning of the firearm.
(2) Practice firing on a range and qualification with
the firearm in accordance with the standards established by the Board.
(3) Instruction in the legal use of firearms under
the Criminal Code of 2012 and relevant court decisions.
(4) A forceful presentation of the ethical and moral
considerations assumed by any person who uses a firearm.
(b) Any officer who successfully completes the Basic Training Course
prescribed for recruits by the Board shall be presumed to have satisfied
the requirements of this Act.
(c) The Board shall cause the training courses to be conducted twice each
year within each of the Mobile Team Regions, but no training course need be
held when there are no police officers or probation officers requiring the training.
(e) The Board may waive, or may conditionally waive, the 40 hour course of
training if, in the Board's opinion, the officer has previously successfully
course of similar content and duration. In cases of waiver, the officer shall
his or her knowledge and proficiency by passing the written examination on
by successfully passing the range qualification portion of the prescribed
(Source: P.A. 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13; 98-725, eff. 1-1-15