Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

35 ILCS 640/2-4

    (35 ILCS 640/2-4)
    Sec. 2-4. Tax imposed.
    (a) Except as provided in subsection (b), a tax is imposed on the privilege of using in this State electricity purchased for use or consumption and not for resale, other than by municipal corporations owning and operating a local transportation system for public service, at the following rates per kilowatt-hour delivered to the purchaser:
        (i) For the first 2000 kilowatt-hours used or
    
consumed in a month: 0.330 cents per kilowatt-hour;
        (ii) For the next 48,000 kilowatt-hours used or
    
consumed in a month: 0.319 cents per kilowatt-hour;
        (iii) For the next 50,000 kilowatt-hours used or
    
consumed in a month: 0.303 cents per kilowatt-hour;
        (iv) For the next 400,000 kilowatt-hours used or
    
consumed in a month: 0.297 cents per kilowatt-hour;
        (v) For the next 500,000 kilowatt-hours used or
    
consumed in a month: 0.286 cents per kilowatt-hour;
        (vi) For the next 2,000,000 kilowatt-hours used or
    
consumed in a month: 0.270 cents per kilowatt-hour;
        (vii) For the next 2,000,000 kilowatt-hours used or
    
consumed in a month: 0.254 cents per kilowatt-hour;
        (viii) For the next 5,000,000 kilowatt-hours used or
    
consumed in a month: 0.233 cents per kilowatt-hour;
        (ix) For the next 10,000,000 kilowatt-hours used or
    
consumed in a month: 0.207 cents per kilowatt-hour;
        (x) For all electricity in excess of 20,000,000
    
kilowatt-hours used or consumed in a month: 0.202 cents per kilowatt-hour.
    Provided, that in lieu of the foregoing rates, the tax is imposed on a self-assessing purchaser at the rate of 5.1% of the self-assessing purchaser's purchase price for all electricity distributed, supplied, furnished, sold, transmitted and delivered to the self-assessing purchaser in a month.
    (b) A tax is imposed on the privilege of using in this State electricity purchased from a municipal system or electric cooperative, as defined in Article XVII of the Public Utilities Act, which has not made an election as permitted by either Section 17-200 or Section 17-300 of such Act, at the lesser of 0.32 cents per kilowatt hour of all electricity distributed, supplied, furnished, sold, transmitted, and delivered by such municipal system or electric cooperative to the purchaser or 5% of each such purchaser's purchase price for all electricity distributed, supplied, furnished, sold, transmitted, and delivered by such municipal system or electric cooperative to the purchaser, whichever is the lower rate as applied to each purchaser in each billing period.
    (c) The tax imposed by this Section 2-4 is not imposed with respect to any use of electricity by business enterprises certified under Section 9-222.1 or 9-222.1A of the Public Utilities Act, as amended, to the extent of such exemption and during the time specified by the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity; or with respect to any transaction in interstate commerce, or otherwise, to the extent to which such transaction may not, under the Constitution and statutes of the United States, be made the subject of taxation by this State.
(Source: P.A. 94-793, eff. 5-19-06.)