Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

35 ILCS 200/17-20

    (35 ILCS 200/17-20)
    Sec. 17-20. Hearing on tentative equalization factor. The Department shall, after publishing its tentative equalization factor and giving notice of hearing to the public in a newspaper of general circulation in the county, hold a hearing on its estimate not less than 10 days nor more than 30 days from the date of the publication. The notice shall state the date and time of the hearing, which shall be held in either Chicago or Springfield, the basis for the estimate of the Department, and further information as the Department may prescribe. The Department shall, after giving a hearing to all interested parties and opportunity for submitting testimony and evidence in support of or adverse to the estimate as the Department considers requisite, either confirm or revise the estimate so as to correctly represent the considered judgment of the Department respecting the estimated percentage to be added to or deducted from the aggregate assessment of all locally assessed property in the county except property assessed under Sections 10-110 through 10-140 or 10-170 through 10-200. Within 30 days after the conclusion of the hearing the Department shall mail to the County Clerk, by certified mail, its determination with respect to such estimated percentage to be added to or deducted from the aggregate assessment.
(Source: P.A. 91-555, eff. 1-1-00.)