Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

20 ILCS 3960/14.1

    (20 ILCS 3960/14.1)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on December 31, 2019)
    Sec. 14.1. Denial of permit; other sanctions.
    (a) The State Board may deny an application for a permit or may revoke or take other action as permitted by this Act with regard to a permit as the State Board deems appropriate, including the imposition of fines as set forth in this Section, for any one or a combination of the following:
        (1) The acquisition of major medical equipment
    
without a permit or in violation of the terms of a permit.
        (2) The establishment, construction, modification, or
    
change of ownership of a health care facility without a permit or exemption or in violation of the terms of a permit.
        (3) The violation of any provision of this Act or any
    
rule adopted under this Act.
        (4) The failure, by any person subject to this Act,
    
to provide information requested by the State Board or Agency within 30 days after a formal written request for the information.
        (5) The failure to pay any fine imposed under this
    
Section within 30 days of its imposition.
    (a-5) For facilities licensed under the ID/DD Community Care Act, no permit shall be denied on the basis of prior operator history, other than for actions specified under item (2), (4), or (5) of Section 3-117 of the ID/DD Community Care Act. For facilities licensed under the MC/DD Act, no permit shall be denied on the basis of prior operator history, other than for actions specified under item (2), (4), or (5) of Section 3-117 of the MC/DD Act. For facilities licensed under the Specialized Mental Health Rehabilitation Act of 2013, no permit shall be denied on the basis of prior operator history, other than for actions specified under subsections (a) and (b) of Section 4-109 of the Specialized Mental Health Rehabilitation Act of 2013. For facilities licensed under the Nursing Home Care Act, no permit shall be denied on the basis of prior operator history, other than for: (i) actions specified under item (2), (3), (4), (5), or (6) of Section 3-117 of the Nursing Home Care Act; (ii) actions specified under item (a)(6) of Section 3-119 of the Nursing Home Care Act; or (iii) actions within the preceding 5 years constituting a substantial and repeated failure to comply with the Nursing Home Care Act or the rules and regulations adopted by the Department under that Act. The State Board shall not deny a permit on account of any action described in this subsection (a-5) without also considering all such actions in the light of all relevant information available to the State Board, including whether the permit is sought to substantially comply with a mandatory or voluntary plan of correction associated with any action described in this subsection (a-5).
    (b) Persons shall be subject to fines as follows:
        (1) A permit holder who fails to comply with the
    
requirements of maintaining a valid permit shall be fined an amount not to exceed 1% of the approved permit amount plus an additional 1% of the approved permit amount for each 30-day period, or fraction thereof, that the violation continues.
        (2) A permit holder who alters the scope of an
    
approved project or whose project costs exceed the allowable permit amount without first obtaining approval from the State Board shall be fined an amount not to exceed the sum of (i) the lesser of $25,000 or 2% of the approved permit amount and (ii) in those cases where the approved permit amount is exceeded by more than $1,000,000, an additional $20,000 for each $1,000,000, or fraction thereof, in excess of the approved permit amount.
        (2.5) A permit holder who fails to comply with the
    
post-permit and reporting requirements set forth in Sections 5 and 8.5 shall be fined an amount not to exceed $10,000 plus an additional $10,000 for each 30-day period, or fraction thereof, that the violation continues. This fine shall continue to accrue until the date that (i) the post-permit requirements are met and the post-permit or post-exemption reports are received by the State Board or (ii) the matter is referred by the State Board to the State Board's legal counsel. The accrued fine is not waived by the permit holder submitting the required information and reports. Prior to any fine beginning to accrue, the Board shall notify, in writing, a permit holder of the due date for the post-permit and reporting requirements no later than 30 days before the due date for the requirements. This paragraph (2.5) takes effect 6 months after August 27, 2012 (the effective date of Public Act 97-1115).
        (3) A person who acquires major medical equipment or
    
who establishes a category of service without first obtaining a permit or exemption, as the case may be, shall be fined an amount not to exceed $10,000 for each such acquisition or category of service established plus an additional $10,000 for each 30-day period, or fraction thereof, that the violation continues.
        (4) A person who constructs, modifies, establishes,
    
or changes ownership of a health care facility without first obtaining a permit or exemption shall be fined an amount not to exceed $25,000 plus an additional $25,000 for each 30-day period, or fraction thereof, that the violation continues.
        (5) A person who discontinues a health care facility
    
or a category of service without first obtaining a permit or exemption shall be fined an amount not to exceed $10,000 plus an additional $10,000 for each 30-day period, or fraction thereof, that the violation continues. For purposes of this subparagraph (5), facilities licensed under the Nursing Home Care Act, the ID/DD Community Care Act, or the MC/DD Act, with the exceptions of facilities operated by a county or Illinois Veterans Homes, are exempt from this permit requirement. However, facilities licensed under the Nursing Home Care Act, the ID/DD Community Care Act, or the MC/DD Act must comply with Section 3-423 of the Nursing Home Care Act, Section 3-423 of the ID/DD Community Care Act, or Section 3-423 of the MC/DD Act and must provide the Board and the Department of Human Services with 30 days' written notice of their intent to close. Facilities licensed under the ID/DD Community Care Act or the MC/DD Act also must provide the Board and the Department of Human Services with 30 days' written notice of their intent to reduce the number of beds for a facility.
        (6) A person subject to this Act who fails to provide
    
information requested by the State Board or Agency within 30 days of a formal written request shall be fined an amount not to exceed $1,000 plus an additional $1,000 for each 30-day period, or fraction thereof, that the information is not received by the State Board or Agency.
    (b-5) The State Board may accept in-kind services instead of or in combination with the imposition of a fine. This authorization is limited to cases where the non-compliant individual or entity has waived the right to an administrative hearing or opportunity to appear before the Board regarding the non-compliant matter.
    (c) Before imposing any fine authorized under this Section, the State Board shall afford the person or permit holder, as the case may be, an appearance before the State Board and an opportunity for a hearing before a hearing officer appointed by the State Board. The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with Section 10. Requests for an appearance before the State Board must be made within 30 days after receiving notice that a fine will be imposed.
    (d) All fines collected under this Act shall be transmitted to the State Treasurer, who shall deposit them into the Illinois Health Facilities Planning Fund.
    (e) Fines imposed under this Section shall continue to accrue until: (i) the date that the matter is referred by the State Board to the Board's legal counsel; or (ii) the date that the health care facility becomes compliant with the Act, whichever is earlier.
(Source: P.A. 98-463, eff. 8-16-13; 99-114, eff. 7-23-15; 99-180, eff. 7-29-15; 99-527, eff. 1-1-17; 99-642, eff. 6-28-16.)