Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

20 ILCS 5/5-715

    (20 ILCS 5/5-715)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 101-240)
    Sec. 5-715. Expedited licensure for service members and spouses.
    (a) In this Section, "service member" means any person who, at the time of application under this Section, is an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces or any reserve component of the United States Armed Forces or the National Guard of any state, commonwealth, or territory of the United States or the District of Columbia or whose active duty service concluded within the preceding 2 years before application.
    (b) Each director of a department that issues an occupational or professional license is authorized to and shall issue an expedited temporary occupational or professional license to a service member who meets the requirements under this Section. The temporary occupational or professional license shall be valid for 6 months after the date of issuance or until a license is granted or a notice to deny a license is issued in accordance with rules adopted by the department issuing the license, whichever occurs first. No temporary occupational or professional license shall be renewed. The service member shall apply to the department on forms provided by the department. An application must include proof that:
        (1) the applicant is a service member;
        (2) the applicant holds a valid license in good
    
standing for the occupation or profession issued by another state, commonwealth, possession, or territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or any foreign jurisdiction and the requirements for licensure in the other jurisdiction are determined by the department to be substantially equivalent to the standards for licensure of this State;
        (3) the applicant is assigned to a duty station in
    
this State or has established legal residence in this State;
        (4) a complete set of the applicant's fingerprints
    
has been submitted to the Department of State Police for statewide and national criminal history checks, if applicable to the requirements of the department issuing the license; the applicant shall pay the fee to the Department of State Police or to the fingerprint vendor for electronic fingerprint processing; no temporary occupational or professional license shall be issued to an applicant if the statewide or national criminal history check discloses information that would cause the denial of an application for licensure under any applicable occupational or professional licensing Act;
        (5) the applicant is not ineligible for licensure
    
pursuant to Section 2105-165 of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois;
        (6) the applicant has submitted an application for
    
full licensure; and
        (7) the applicant has paid the required fee; fees
    
shall not be refundable.
    (c) Each director of a department that issues an occupational or professional license is authorized to and shall issue an expedited temporary occupational or professional license to the spouse of a service member who meets the requirements under this Section. The temporary occupational or professional license shall be valid for 6 months after the date of issuance or until a license is granted or a notice to deny a license is issued in accordance with rules adopted by the department issuing the license, whichever occurs first. No temporary occupational or professional license shall be renewed. The spouse of a service member shall apply to the department on forms provided by the department. An application must include proof that:
        (1) the applicant is the spouse of a service member;
        (2) the applicant holds a valid license in good
    
standing for the occupation or profession issued by another state, commonwealth, possession, or territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or any foreign jurisdiction and the requirements for licensure in the other jurisdiction are determined by the department to be substantially equivalent to the standards for licensure of this State;
        (3) the applicant's spouse is assigned to a duty
    
station in this State or has established legal residence in this State;
        (4) a complete set of the applicant's fingerprints
    
has been submitted to the Department of State Police for statewide and national criminal history checks, if applicable to the requirements of the department issuing the license; the applicant shall pay the fee to the Department of State Police or to the fingerprint vendor for electronic fingerprint processing; no temporary occupational or professional license shall be issued to an applicant if the statewide or national criminal history check discloses information that would cause the denial of an application for licensure under any applicable occupational or professional licensing Act;
        (5) the applicant is not ineligible for licensure
    
pursuant to Section 2105-165 of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois;
        (6) the applicant has submitted an application for
    
full licensure; and
        (7) the applicant has paid the required fee; fees
    
shall not be refundable.
    (d) All relevant experience of a service member in the discharge of official duties, including full-time and part-time experience, shall be credited in the calculation of any years of practice in an occupation or profession as may be required under any applicable occupational or professional licensing Act. All relevant training provided by the military and completed by a service member shall be credited to that service member as meeting any training or education requirement under any applicable occupational or professional licensing Act, provided that the training or education is determined by the department to be substantially equivalent to that required under any applicable Act and is not otherwise contrary to any other licensure requirement.
    (e) A department may adopt any rules necessary for the implementation and administration of this Section and shall by rule provide for fees for the administration of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-710, eff. 1-1-13; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 101-240)
    Sec. 5-715. Expedited licensure for service members and spouses.
    (a) In this Section, "service member" means any person who, at the time of application under this Section, is an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces or any reserve component of the United States Armed Forces, the Coast Guard, or the National Guard of any state, commonwealth, or territory of the United States or the District of Columbia or whose active duty service concluded within the preceding 2 years before application.
    (a-5) The Department of Financial and Professional Regulation shall within 180 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 101st General Assembly designate one staff member as the military liaison within the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation to ensure proper enactment of the requirements of this Section. The military liaison's responsibilities shall also include, but are not limited to: (1) the management of all expedited applications to ensure processing within 60 days after receipt of a completed application; (2) coordination with all military installation military and family support center directors within this State, including virtual, phone, or in-person periodic meetings with each military installation military and family support center; and (3) training by the military liaison to all directors of each division that issues an occupational or professional license to ensure proper application of this Section. Beginning in 2020, and at the end of each calendar year thereafter, the military liaison shall provide an annual report documenting the expedited licensure program for service members and spouses, and shall deliver that report to the Secretary of Financial and Professional Regulation and the Lieutenant Governor.
    (b) Each director of a department that issues an occupational or professional license is authorized to and shall issue an expedited license to a service member who meets the requirements under this Section. Review and determination of an application for a license issued by the department shall be expedited by the department within 60 days after the date on which the applicant provides the department with all necessary documentation required for licensure. An expedited license shall be issued by the department to any service members meeting the application requirements of this Section, regardless of whether the service member currently resides in this State. The service member shall apply to the department on forms provided by the department. An application must include proof that:
        (1) the applicant is a service member;
        (2) the applicant holds a valid license in good
    
standing for the occupation or profession issued by another state, commonwealth, possession, or territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or any foreign jurisdiction and the requirements for licensure in the other jurisdiction are determined by the department to be substantially equivalent to the standards for licensure of this State;
        (3) the applicant is assigned to a duty station in
    
this State, has established legal residence in this State, or will reside in this State within 6 months after the date of application;
        (4) a complete set of the applicant's fingerprints
    
has been submitted to the Department of State Police for statewide and national criminal history checks, if applicable to the requirements of the department issuing the license; the applicant shall pay the fee to the Department of State Police or to the fingerprint vendor for electronic fingerprint processing; no temporary occupational or professional license shall be issued to an applicant if the statewide or national criminal history check discloses information that would cause the denial of an application for licensure under any applicable occupational or professional licensing Act;
        (5) the applicant is not ineligible for licensure
    
pursuant to Section 2105-165 of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois;
        (6) the applicant has submitted an application for
    
full licensure; and
        (7) the applicant has paid the required fee; fees
    
shall not be refundable.
    (c) Each director of a department that issues an occupational or professional license is authorized to and shall issue an expedited license to the spouse of a service member who meets the requirements under this Section. Review and determination of an application for a license shall be expedited by the department within 60 days after the date on which the applicant provides the department with all necessary documentation required for licensure. An expedited license shall be issued by the department to any spouse of a service member meeting the application requirements of this Section, regardless of whether the spouse or the service member currently reside in this State. The spouse of a service member shall apply to the department on forms provided by the department. An application must include proof that:
        (1) the applicant is the spouse of a service member;
        (2) the applicant holds a valid license in good
    
standing for the occupation or profession issued by another state, commonwealth, possession, or territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or any foreign jurisdiction and the requirements for licensure in the other jurisdiction are determined by the department to be substantially equivalent to the standards for licensure of this State;
        (3) the applicant's spouse is assigned to a duty
    
station in this State, has established legal residence in this State, or will reside in this State within 6 months after the date of application;
        (4) a complete set of the applicant's fingerprints
    
has been submitted to the Department of State Police for statewide and national criminal history checks, if applicable to the requirements of the department issuing the license; the applicant shall pay the fee to the Department of State Police or to the fingerprint vendor for electronic fingerprint processing; no temporary occupational or professional license shall be issued to an applicant if the statewide or national criminal history check discloses information that would cause the denial of an application for licensure under any applicable occupational or professional licensing Act;
        (5) the applicant is not ineligible for licensure
    
pursuant to Section 2105-165 of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois;
        (6) the applicant has submitted an application for
    
full licensure; and
        (7) the applicant has paid the required fee; fees
    
shall not be refundable.
    (c-5) If a service member or his or her spouse relocates from this State, he or she shall be provided an opportunity to place his or her license in inactive status through coordination with the military liaison. If the service member or his or her spouse returns to this State, he or she may reactivate the license in accordance with the statutory provisions regulating the profession and any applicable administrative rules. The license reactivation shall be expedited and completed within 30 days after receipt of a completed application to reactivate the license. A license reactivation is only applicable when the valid license for which the first issuance of a license was predicated is still valid and in good standing. An application to reactivate a license must include proof that the applicant still holds a valid license in good standing for the occupation or profession issued in another State, commonwealth, possession, or territory of the United States, the District of Columbia, or any foreign jurisdiction.
    (d) All relevant experience of a service member or his or her spouse in the discharge of official duties, including full-time and part-time experience, shall be credited in the calculation of any years of practice in an occupation or profession as may be required under any applicable occupational or professional licensing Act. All relevant training provided by the military and completed by a service member shall be credited to that service member as meeting any training or education requirement under any applicable occupational or professional licensing Act, provided that the training or education is determined by the department to be substantially equivalent to that required under any applicable Act and is not otherwise contrary to any other licensure requirement.
    (e) A department may adopt any rules necessary for the implementation and administration of this Section and shall by rule provide for fees for the administration of this Section.
(Source: P.A. 101-240, eff. 1-1-20.)