(730 ILCS 150/8)
(from Ch. 38, par. 228)
Registration and DNA submission requirements.
(a) Registration. Registration as required by this
Article shall consist of a statement in writing signed by the person giving the
information that is required by the Department of State Police, which may
include the fingerprints and must include a current photograph of the person, to be updated annually. If the sex offender is a child sex offender as defined in Section 11-9.3 or 11-9.4 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, he or she shall sign a statement that he or she understands that according to Illinois law as a child sex offender he or she may not reside within 500 feet of a school, park, or playground. The offender may also not reside within 500 feet of a facility providing services directed exclusively toward persons under 18 years of age unless the sex offender meets specified exemptions. The
information must include whether the person is a sex offender as
in the Sex Offender Community Notification
Law. Within 3
registering law enforcement agency shall forward any
required information to the Department of State Police. The registering
law enforcement agency shall
enter the information into the Law Enforcement Agencies Data System (LEADS) as
provided in Sections 6 and 7 of the Intergovernmental Missing Child Recovery
Act of 1984.
(b) DNA submission. Every person registering as a sex offender pursuant to this Act, regardless of the date of conviction or the date of initial registration who is required to submit specimens of blood, saliva, or tissue for DNA analysis as required by subsection (a) of Section 5-4-3 of the Unified Code of Corrections shall submit the specimens as required by that Section. Registered sex offenders who have previously submitted a DNA specimen which has been uploaded to the Illinois DNA database shall not be required to submit an additional specimen pursuant to this Section.
(Source: P.A. 97-383, eff. 1-1-12; 97-1150, eff. 1-25-13