(625 ILCS 5/18a-400) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18a-400)
    Sec. 18a-400. Relocator's licenses - Applications, original determinations. (a) Each application for a license to operate as a commercial vehicle relocator shall be made in writing to the Commission, shall be verified under oath, shall be in such form and contain such information as the Commission may by regulation require, and shall be accompanied by the required application fee and proof of security.
    (b) Upon the filing of such application, the Commission shall, within a reasonable time, fix a time and place for public hearing thereon. At least 10 days before the hearing, the Commission shall notify the applicant and all parties of record to such proceeding of the time and place of such hearing, by mailing a notice thereof to each such party to the address of such party shown in the records of such proceeding. Any person having an interest in the subject matter may appear at the hearing in support of or in objection to the application.
    (c) The applicant shall publish a notice on a form prescribed by the Commission covering the filing of such application at least 10 days prior to the time of the initial hearing in (i) the official newspaper selected by the Department of Finance of the State of Illinois pursuant to Section 4 of the Illinois Purchasing Act, and (ii) a secular newspaper of general circulation and published in the county in the State of Illinois, wherein the applicant or applicants propose to maintain their principal office and place of business within the State of Illinois. The Commission may by regulation or otherwise order applicants to give such further notice as it deems required. The Commission may give additional notice of the filing of such application as it may deem reasonable and proper as prescribed in its rules. The Director of the Department of Finance of the State of Illinois for the purposes hereof shall over his or her signature as such Director annually and immediately upon selecting the official newspaper certify to the Illinois Commerce Commission the name and address of said newspaper, together with the date of expiration of the period of one year for which said newspaper was so selected and the Commission shall filemark each such certification as of the date it receives the same and shall keep an official file of said certifications of said Director conveniently available at its office in Springfield, Illinois; provided, however, that in any and all events and for all purposes of this Section and this Chapter, should the aforesaid Director for any reason fail to make said certification annually, the newspaper set forth in the certification aforesaid of said Director filemarked by the Commission as of the most recent date shall be the official newspaper in which publication is required hereby. In case publication is required hereby in a newspaper published in a particular county and no newspaper is so published, then and in that case publication shall be made in a newspaper published in the closest county thereto which meets the circulation requirements of this Section.
    (d) The Commission shall issue a relocator's license to any qualified applicant therefor after hearing, pursuant to an application filed, if it is found that the applicant is fit, willing and able properly to perform the service proposed and to conform to provisions of this Chapter and the requirements, rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder; otherwise such application shall be denied. The order of the Commission granting or denying a relocator's license shall set forth the specific findings of fact on which such order is based. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Chapter no such license shall be issued to any person who has failed to pay any registration fee or any tax due from such person to the State of Illinois for the privilege of operating any motor vehicle on the public highways in the State of Illinois.
    (e) Operation over the public highways of this State conducted pursuant to a relocator's license shall be in conformity with all of the laws of this State pertaining to motor vehicle operation over such public highways.
    (f) No relocator's license shall confer any proprietary or property rights in the use of the public highways.
(Source: P.A. 80-1459.)