(520 ILCS 5/3.25) (from Ch. 61, par. 3.25)
    Sec. 3.25. Any individual who, within the State of Illinois, holds, possesses or engages in the breeding or raising of live fur-bearing mammals, protected by this Act, except as provided in Sections 1.6 or 1.7, shall be a fur-bearing mammal breeder in the meaning of this Act. Before any individual shall hold, possess or engage in the breeding or raising of live fur-bearing mammals, he shall first procure a fur-bearing mammal breeder permit. Fur-bearing mammal breeder permits shall be issued by the Department. The annual fee for each fur-bearing mammal breeder permit shall be $25. All fur-bearing mammal breeder permits shall expire on March 31 of each year.
    Holders of fur-bearing mammal breeder permits may hold, possess, engage in the breeding or raising, sell, or otherwise dispose of live fur-bearing mammals or their green hides, possessed thereunder, at any time of the year.
    Fur-bearing mammal breeders shall keep a record for 2 years from the date of the acquisition, sale or other disposition of each live fur-bearing mammal or its green hide so raised or propagated, showing the date of such transaction, the name and address of the individual receiving or buying such live fur-bearing mammal or its green hide, and when requested to do so, shall furnish such individual with a certificate of purchase showing the number and kinds of live fur-bearing mammals or green hides so disposed of, the date of the transaction, the name and permit number of the breeder, and the name of the individual receiving, collecting, or buying such live fur-bearing mammals or green hides, and such other information as the Department may require. Such records and certificates of purchase shall be immediately presented to officers or authorized employees of the Department, any sheriff, deputy sheriff, or other peace officer when request is made for same. Failure to produce such records or certificates of purchase shall be prima facie evidence that such live fur-bearing mammals or green hides are contraband with the State of Illinois. The holder of a fur-bearing mammal breeder permit may exhibit fur-bearing mammals commercially.
    Nothing in this Section shall be construed to give any such permittee authority to take fur-bearing mammals in their wild state contrary to other provisions of this Act, or to remove such permittee from responsibility for the observance of any Federal Laws, rules or regulations which may apply to such fur-bearing mammals.
    Holders of fur-bearing mammal breeder permits may import fur-bearing mammals into the State of Illinois but may release the same only after health and disease prevention requirements set forth by the Director and other State agencies have been met and permission of the Director has been granted.
    The breeding, raising and producing in captivity, and the marketing, by the producer, of mink (Mustela vison), red fox (Vulpes vulpes) or arctic fox (Alopex lagopus), as live animals, or as animal pelts or carcasses shall be deemed an agricultural pursuit, and all such animals so raised in captivity shall be deemed domestic animals, subject to all the laws of the State with reference to possession and ownership as are applicable at any time to domestic animals. All individuals engaged in the foregoing activities are fur farmers and engaged in farming for all statutory purposes. Such individuals are exempt from the fur-bearing mammal breeder permit requirements set forth in this Section if: (1) they are defined as farmers for Federal income tax purposes, and (2) at least 20 percent of their gross farm income as reported on Federal tax form Schedule F (Form 1040) for the previous year is generated from the sale of mink, red fox or arctic fox as live animals, animal pelts or carcasses.
    No fur-bearing mammal breeder permits will be issued to hold, possess, or engage in the breeding and raising of striped skunks acquired after July 1, 1975, or coyotes acquired after July 1, 1978, except for coyotes that are held or possessed by a person who holds a hound running area permit under Section 3.26 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 95-196, eff. 1-1-08.)