(420 ILCS 40/7a) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 210-7a)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2021)
    Sec. 7a. Certification of Industrial Radiographers.
    (a) Beginning January 1, 1993, no person may perform industrial radiography unless he or she is certified by the Department of Nuclear Safety or its successor, the Illinois Emergency Management Agency, to perform industrial radiography. The Agency shall promulgate regulations establishing standards and procedures for certification of industrial radiographers. The regulations may include, without limitation, provisions specifying a minimum course of study and requiring that individuals seeking certification pass an examination administered or approved by the Agency. Industrial radiography certification shall be valid for 5 years, except that certifications for industrial radiography trainees shall be valid for 2 years. The Agency shall establish by regulation standards and procedures for renewal of certification. The regulations shall provide that certification for industrial radiography trainees shall be nonrenewable.
    (b) The regulations of the Department of Nuclear Safety, as the predecessor agency of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency, shall provide for provisional certification of persons who performed industrial radiography before January 1, 1993. In order to obtain provisional certification, the industrial radiographer must apply to the Department no later than January 1, 1993. Provisional certification shall be valid for 2 years, provided that a person who has obtained a provisional certification must take an examination that is administered or approved by the Department within 12 months of the date on which the provisional certification was issued. Upon passing the examination, the Department shall certify the individual as an industrial radiographer. Provisional certification shall be nonrenewable.
    (c) The Agency may, by regulation, assess certification fees and fees to recover the cost of examining applicants for certification.
    (d) The Agency may suspend or revoke the certification of an industrial radiographer, or take other action as provided in Sections 36 and 38 of this Act, if a certified industrial radiographer violates this Act or any rule or regulation promulgated under this Act, or otherwise endangers the safety of himself, his co-workers, or members of the general public. It shall be a violation of this Act for any person to allow an individual who is not a certified industrial radiographer to perform industrial radiography.
(Source: P.A. 94-104, eff. 7-1-05.)