(420 ILCS 40/36) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 210-36)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2021)
    Sec. 36. Order for violation abatement and public hearing. Whenever the Agency believes upon examination of records or inspection and examination of a radiation installation or a radiation source as constructed, operated or maintained that there has been a violation of any of the provisions of this Act or any rules or regulations promulgated under this Act, the Agency may:
        (1) order the discontinuance of such violation;
        (2) suspend or revoke a license or registration
    
issued by the Department of Nuclear Safety or its successor agency, the Illinois Emergency Management Agency;
        (3) impose a civil penalty, not to exceed $10,000 for
    
such violation, provided each day the violation continues shall constitute a separate offense;
        (4) order the decontamination of any property or
    
structure which has been contaminated as a result of such violation;
        (5) restrict access to any property which has been
    
contaminated as a result of such violation; or
        (6) impound, order the impounding of, or confiscate
    
radiation sources possessed by operators or other persons engaging in such violation and order the owner of the radiation sources to reimburse the Agency for any costs incurred by the Department of Nuclear Safety or the Agency in conjunction with the transfer, storage, treatment or disposal of the radiation sources.
    The Agency shall also have the authority to take any of the actions specified in paragraphs (4), (5) or (6) of this Section if a licensee seeks to terminate a license issued by the Department of Nuclear Safety or its successor agency, the Illinois Emergency Management Agency, pursuant to this Act or to otherwise abandon a radiation installation.
    Any such actions by the Agency shall be based on standards and procedures established by rules of the Agency. Under such rules, the Agency may provide that all or a portion of the cost of such actions be assessed to operators of radiation installations or other persons responsible for the violation or contamination.
    The civil penalties and costs assessed under this Section shall be recoverable in an action brought in the name of the people of the State of Illinois by the Attorney General.
    In any order issued to an offending party under this Section, the Agency shall include a summary of its findings which give evidence of the violation. Any party affected by an order of the Department of Nuclear Safety or its successor agency, the Illinois Emergency Management Agency, shall have the right to a hearing before the Agency; however, a written request for such a hearing shall be served on the Agency within 10 days of notice of such order. In the absence of receipt of a request for hearing the affected party shall be deemed to have waived his right to a hearing.
    No order of the Agency issued under this Section, except an order issued pursuant to Section 38 herein, shall take effect until the Agency shall find upon conclusion of such hearing that a condition exists which constitutes a violation of any provision of this Act or any code, rule or regulation promulgated under this Act except in the event that the right to public hearing is waived as provided herein in which case the order shall take effect immediately.
(Source: P.A. 94-104, eff. 7-1-05.)