(410 ILCS 413/15)
    Sec. 15. Epilepsy Advisory Committee. The Epilepsy Advisory Committee is created as a committee within the Department of Public Health. The Epilepsy Advisory Committee shall consist of the Director of Public Health, or his or her designee, who shall serve as a non-voting member and who shall be the co-chair of the Committee, and 13 voting members appointed by the Governor.
    The voting members shall include persons who are experienced in the delivery of diagnoses, treatment, and support services to victims of epilepsy and their families. The voting members shall include 3 board-certified neurologists licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches, at least one of whom shall be a Director of a comprehensive epilepsy center; one representative of an educational institution that is affiliated with a medical center in the State; one representative of a licensed hospital; one nurse; one social worker; one representative of an organization established under the Illinois Insurance Code for the purpose of providing health insurance; one representative of each Illinois Epilepsy Foundation affiliate; and 2 people with epilepsy or members of their families.
    Each voting member shall serve for a term of 2 years and until his or her successor is appointed and qualified. Members of the Committee shall not be compensated, but shall be reimbursed for expenses actually incurred in the performance of their duties from funds appropriated for that purpose. No more than 9 voting members may be of the same political party. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as original appointments.
    The Epilepsy Advisory Committee shall advise the Department of Public Health on their duties under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 94-73, eff. 6-23-05.)