(410 ILCS 82/45)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 100-877)
    Sec. 45. Violations.
    (a) A person, corporation, partnership, association or other entity who violates Section 15 or 20 of this Act shall be fined pursuant to this Section. Each day that a violation occurs is a separate violation.
    (b) A person who smokes in an area where smoking is prohibited under Section 15 of this Act shall be fined in an amount that is $100 for a first offense and $250 for each subsequent offense. A person who owns, operates, or otherwise controls a public place or place of employment that violates Section 15 or 20 of this Act shall be fined (i) $250 for the first violation, (ii) $500 for the second violation within one year after the first violation, and (iii) $2,500 for each additional violation within one year after the first violation.
    (c) A fine imposed under this Section shall be allocated as follows:
        (1) one-half of the fine shall be distributed to the
    
Department; and
        (2) one-half of the fine shall be distributed to the
    
enforcing agency.
    (d) Rulemaking authority to implement this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly, if any, is conditioned on the rules being adopted in accordance with all provisions of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act and all rules and procedures of the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules; any purported rule not so adopted, for whatever reason, is unauthorized.
(Source: P.A. 98-1023, eff. 8-22-14.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 100-877)
    Sec. 45. Violations.
    (a) A person, corporation, partnership, association or other entity who violates Section 15 or 20 of this Act shall be liable for a civil penalty pursuant to this Section. Each day that a violation occurs is a separate violation.
    (b) A person who smokes in an area where smoking is prohibited under Section 15 of this Act shall be liable for a civil penalty in an amount that is $100 for a first offense and $250 for each subsequent offense. A person who owns, operates, or otherwise controls a public place or place of employment that violates Section 15 or 20 of this Act shall be liable for a civil penalty of (i) $250 for the first violation, (ii) $500 for the second violation within one year after the first violation, and (iii) $2,500 for each additional violation within one year after the first violation.
    (c) A civil penalty imposed under this Section shall be allocated as follows:
        (1) one-half of the civil penalty shall be
    
distributed to the Department; and
        (2) one-half of the civil penalty shall be
    
distributed to the enforcing agency.
    With respect to funds designated for the Department of State Police under this subsection, the Department of State Police shall deposit the moneys into the State Police Operations Assistance Fund. With respect to funds designated for the Department of Natural Resources under this subsection, the Department of Natural Resources shall deposit the moneys into the Conservation Police Operations Assistance Fund.
    (d) Rulemaking authority to implement this amendatory Act of the 95th General Assembly, if any, is conditioned on the rules being adopted in accordance with all provisions of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act and all rules and procedures of the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules; any purported rule not so adopted, for whatever reason, is unauthorized.
(Source: P.A. 100-877, eff. 1-1-19.)