(235 ILCS 5/6-29)
(from Ch. 43, par. 144e)
Winery shipper's license.
(a) The General Assembly declares that the following is the
intent of this Section:
(1) To authorize direct shipment of wine by an
out-of-state maker of wine on the same basis permitted an in-state maker of wine pursuant to the authority of the State under the provisions of Section 2 of the Twenty-First Amendment to the United States Constitution and in conformance with the United States Supreme Court decision decided on May 16, 2005 in Granholm v. Heald.
(2) To reaffirm that the General Assembly's findings
and declarations that selling alcoholic liquor through various direct marketing means such as catalogs, newspapers, mailings, and the Internet directly to consumers of this State poses a serious threat to the State's efforts to further temperance and prevent youth from accessing alcoholic liquor and the expansion of youth access to additional types of alcoholic liquors.
(3) To maintain the State's broad powers granted by
Section 2 of the Twenty-First Amendment to the United States Constitution to control the importation or sale of alcoholic liquor and its right to structure its alcoholic liquor distribution system.
(4) To ensure that the General Assembly, by
authorizing limited direct shipment of wine to meet the directives of the United States Supreme Court, does not intend to impair or modify the State's distribution of wine through distributors or importing distributors, but only to permit limited shipment of wine for personal use.
(5) To provide that, in the event that a court of
competent jurisdiction declares or finds that this Section, which is enacted to conform Illinois law to the United States Supreme Court decision, is invalid or unconstitutional, the Illinois General Assembly at its earliest general session shall conduct hearings and study methods to conform to any directive or order of the court consistent with the temperance and revenue collection purposes of this Act.
(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a
wine shipper licensee may ship, for personal use and not for
resale, not more than 12 cases of wine per year to any resident
of this State who is 21 years of age or older.
(b-3) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, sale and
shipment by a winery shipper licensee pursuant to this
Section shall be deemed to constitute a sale in this State.
(b-5) The shipping container of any wine shipped under this
Section shall be clearly labeled with the following words:
"CONTAINS ALCOHOL. SIGNATURE OF A PERSON 21 YEARS OF AGE OR
OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY. PROOF OF AGE AND IDENTITY MUST BE
SHOWN BEFORE DELIVERY.". This warning must be prominently
displayed on the packaging. A licensee shall require the
transporter or common carrier that delivers the wine to obtain
the signature of a person 21 years of age or older at the
delivery address at the time of delivery. At the expense of the
licensee, the licensee shall receive a delivery confirmation
from the express company, common carrier, or contract carrier
indicating the location of the delivery, time of delivery, and
the name and signature of the individual 21 years of age or
older who accepts delivery. The Commission shall design
and create a label or approve a label that must be affixed to
the shipping container by the licensee.
(c) No broker within this State shall solicit consumers to engage in
direct wine shipments under this Section.
(d) It is not the intent of this Section to impair the distribution of
wine through distributors or importing distributors, but only to permit
shipments of wine for personal use.
(Source: P.A. 95-634, eff. 6-1-08