(230 ILCS 30/3)
(from Ch. 120, par. 1123)
The Department of Revenue shall, upon application therefor
on forms prescribed by the Department, and upon the payment of a nonrefundable
fee of $400 due upon application and each renewal, and upon a determination by the Department that the applicant
meets all of the qualifications specified in this Act, issue a
charitable games license for the conducting of charitable games to any
of the following:
(i) Any local fraternal mutual benefit organization
which operates without profit to its members, which has been in existence in Illinois continuously for a period of 5 years immediately before making application for a license and which has had during that 5 year period a bona fide membership engaged in carrying out its objects. However, the 5 year requirement shall be reduced to 2 years, as applied to a local organization which is affiliated with and chartered by a national organization which meets the 5 year requirement. The period of existence specified above shall not apply to a qualified organization, organized for charitable purpose, created by a fraternal organization that meets the existence requirements if the charitable organization has the same officers and directors as the fraternal organization. Only one charitable organization created by a branch lodge or chapter of a fraternal organization may be licensed under this provision.
The application shall be signed by a person listed on the application as an owner, officer, or other person in charge of the necessary day-to-day operations of the applicant organization, who shall attest under penalties of perjury that the information contained in the application is true, correct, and complete.
Each license shall be in effect for 2 years from its date of
issuance unless extended, suspended, or revoked by Department action before that date.
Any extension shall not exceed one year. The Department may by rule authorize the filing by electronic means of any application, license, permit, return, or registration required under this Act. A licensee may hold only one license. Each license must be applied for at
least 30 days prior to the night or nights the licensee wishes to conduct
such games. The Department may issue a license to a licensee that applies less than 30 days prior to the night or nights the licensee wishes to conduct the games if all other requirements of this Act are met and the Department has sufficient time and resources to issue the license in a timely manner. The Department may provide by rule for an extension of any charitable games license issued under this Act. If a licensee wishes to conduct games at a location other than
the locations originally specified in the license, the licensee shall
notify the Department of the proposed alternate location at least 30 days
before the night on which the licensee wishes to conduct games at the
alternate location. The Department may accept an applicant's change in location with less than 30 days' notice if all other requirements of this Act are met and the Department has sufficient time and resources to process the change in a timely manner.
All taxes and fees imposed by this Act, unless otherwise specified, shall be paid into the Illinois Gaming Law Enforcement Fund of the State Treasury.
(Source: P.A. 98-377, eff. 1-1-14.)