(70 ILCS 1950/15)
    Sec. 15. Board of trustees.
    (a) A renewable energy production district shall be governed by a board of trustees. The board of trustees shall consist of 5 members. A member of the board of trustees must reside within the territory embraced within the district. Within 90 days after the order is entered organizing the district, the county board in which the renewable energy production district is located shall appoint the initial members of the board. Of the initial members, 3 shall serve for a 3-year term and 2 shall serve for a 5-year term, as determined by lot. Thereafter, the members of the board shall serve for a 5-year term. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as appointments. Members of the board shall serve without compensation but may receive the reasonable cost of their travel expenses and may be reimbursed for actual expenses incurred in the performance of their official duties as members of the board.
    (b) Within 60 days after appointment of the initial board of trustees, the board shall meet and elect a chairman, who shall thereafter be elected annually by the board, the secretary, and the treasurer. At the initial meeting, the board shall adopt by-laws that shall at a minimum (i) define the first and subsequent fiscal years of the district, (ii) determine the dates and times of other regular and special meetings of the board, and (iii) set forth the procedure for amending the by-laws.
    (c) A majority of the members appointed shall constitute a quorum in order to do business.
    (d) Formal action of the board shall be in the form of an ordinance, resolution, motion, or other appropriate form, approved by a majority of the board members in attendance at a board meeting.
(Source: P.A. 97-265, eff. 8-8-11; 97-1110, eff. 8-27-12.)