(70 ILCS 1105/6) (from Ch. 85, par. 6806)
    Sec. 6. Board of Commissioners. (a) The affairs of the district shall be managed by a board of commissioners consisting of 5 commissioners, who shall be appointed by the presiding officer of the county board of the county in which the museum district is situated, with the advice and consent of the county board. The first appointments shall be made more than 60 days but not more than 90 days after the district is organized. Each commissioner must be a legal voter in the district. The first commissioners shall be appointed for terms ending June 30, one, 2, 3, 4, and 5 years after the district is organized, as determined by lot. Thereafter, successor commissioners shall be appointed for terms of 5 years. Commissioners shall receive no compensation but shall be reimbursed for their reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of official duties.
    (b) Whenever a commissioner is no longer a legal voter of the district, the office shall immediately become vacant. Whenever a vacancy in the office of commissioner occurs for any reason, a successor shall be appointed for the remainder of the term in the same manner as other commissioners are appointed.
    (c) A museum district may sue and be sued, enter into contracts, acquire and hold real and personal property necessary for its corporate purposes, and adopt a seal and alter the same at its pleasure.
    (d) If the boundaries of a district are the same as the boundaries of a county or municipality, the corporate authorities of the county or municipality shall have the powers and perform the duties of the commissioners, and in that case no commissioners shall be appointed for the district. The corporate authorities shall receive no additional compensation for governing the museum district.
(Source: P.A. 86-477.)