(70 ILCS 750/5)
    Sec. 5. Creation; purpose.
    (a) Madison, Monroe, and St. Clair Counties may each be designated independently and separately as a flood prevention district for the purpose of performing emergency levee repair and flood prevention in order to prevent the loss of life or property. The county board of any such county may declare an emergency and create a flood prevention district by the affirmative vote of the majority of the members of the county board.
    (b) Two or more flood prevention districts may join together through an intergovernmental agreement to provide any services described in this Act, to construct, reconstruct, repair, or otherwise provide any facilities described in this Act either within or outside of any district's corporate limits, to issue bonds, notes, or other evidences of indebtedness, to pledge the taxes authorized to be imposed pursuant to Section 25 of this Act to the obligations of any other district, and to exercise any other power authorized in this Act, pursuant to the Intergovernmental Cooperation Act.
    (c) Any district created under this Act shall be dissolved upon the later of (i) 25 years after the date the district is created or (ii) the payment of all obligations of the district issued under Section 20 of this Act and the payment of any federal reimbursement moneys to the county treasurer under Section 30 of this Act. A district may be dissolved earlier by its board of commissioners if all federal reimbursement moneys have been paid to the county treasurer and all obligations of the district have been paid, including its obligations related to bonds issued under Section 20 of this Act and any obligations incurred pursuant to an intergovernmental agreement.
(Source: P.A. 95-719, eff. 5-21-08; 95-723, eff. 6-23-08.)