(65 ILCS 5/4-5-1) (from Ch. 24, par. 4-5-1)
    Sec. 4-5-1. Every municipality which has the commission form of municipal government shall be governed by a council, consisting of the mayor and 4 commissioners, as provided in this article.
    The mayor shall be the president of the council and preside at its meetings, and he shall supervise all departments and report to the council for its action all matters requiring attention in any department. The commissioner of accounts and finances shall be vice president of the council, and in case of a vacancy in the office of mayor or the absence or inability of the mayor, shall perform the duties of the mayor.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 576.)