(65 ILCS 5/11-45-8) (from Ch. 24, par. 11-45-8)
    Sec. 11-45-8. The commissioners provided for in Section 11-45-7 in the specified municipalities shall hold office, one for one year, one for 2 years, one for 3 years, one for 4 years and one for 5 years from the first day of October, 1947. The mayor shall designate for the original appointees what term is to be served by each commissioner at the time of appointment. Thereafter the mayor shall, prior to the first day of October each year, appoint one commissioner to serve for a term of 5 years and until his successor is appointed. The mayor may, by and with the consent of the city council, remove any commissioner for misconduct or neglect of duty. No commissioner appointed hereunder, shall be interested in any supplies or contract with the commission, and no commissioner shall receive any compensation for services as such.
(Source: Laws 1967, p. 2339.)