(35 ILCS 505/13a.4) (from Ch. 120, par. 429a4)
    Sec. 13a.4. Except as provided in Section 13a.5 of this Act, no motor carrier shall operate in Illinois without first securing a motor fuel use tax license and decals from the Department or a motor fuel use tax license and decals issued under the International Fuel Tax Agreement by any member jurisdiction. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Section to the contrary, however, the Director of Revenue or his designee may, upon determining that a disaster exists in Illinois or in any other state, temporarily waive the licensing requirements of this Section for commercial motor vehicles that travel through Illinois, or return to Illinois from a point outside Illinois, for the purpose of assisting in disaster relief efforts. Temporary waiver of the licensing requirements of this Section shall not exceed a period of 30 days from the date the Director temporarily waives the licensing requirements of this Section. For purposes of this Section, a disaster includes flood, tornado, hurricane, fire, earthquake, or any other disaster that causes or threatens loss of life or destruction or damage to property of such a magnitude as to endanger the public health, safety, and welfare. The licensing requirements of this Section shall be temporarily waived only if the operator of the commercial motor vehicle can provide proof by manifest that the commercial motor vehicle is traveling through Illinois or returning to Illinois from a point outside Illinois for purposes of assisting in disaster relief efforts. Application for such license and decals shall be made annually to the Department on forms prescribed by the Department. The application shall be under oath, and shall contain such information as the Department deems necessary. The Department, for cause, may require an applicant to post a bond on a form to be approved by and with a surety or sureties satisfactory to the Department conditioned upon such applicant paying to the State of Illinois all monies becoming due by reason of the sale or use of motor fuel by the applicant, together with all penalties and interest thereon. If a bond is required, it shall be equal to at least twice the estimated average tax liability of a quarterly return. The Department shall fix the penalty of such bond in each case taking into consideration the amount of motor fuel expected to be used by such applicant and the penalty fixed by the Department shall be such as, in its opinion, will protect the State of Illinois against failure to pay the amount hereinafter provided on motor fuel used. No person who is in default to the State for monies due under this Act for the sale, distribution or use of motor fuel shall receive such a license or decal.
    Upon receipt of the application for license in proper form, and upon payment of any required $100 reinstatement fee, and upon approval by the Department of the bond furnished by the applicant, the Department may issue to such applicant a license which allows the operation of commercial motor vehicles in Illinois, and decals for each commercial motor vehicle operating in Illinois. Prior to January 1, 1985, motor fuel use tax licenses shall be conspicuously displayed in the cab of each commercial motor vehicle operating in Illinois. After January 1, 1986, motor fuel use tax licenses shall be carried in the cab of each commercial motor vehicle operating in Illinois.
    The Department shall, by regulation, provide for the use of reproductions of original motor fuel use tax licenses in lieu of issuing multiple original motor fuel use tax licenses to licensees.
    On and after January 1, 1985, external motor fuel tax decals shall be conspicuously displayed on the passenger side of each commercial motor vehicle propelled by motor fuel operating in Illinois, except buses, which may display such devices on the driver's side of the vehicle. Beginning with the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1993 or the membership of the State of Illinois in the International Fuel Tax Agreement, whichever is later, the decals issued to the licensee shall be placed on both exterior sides of the cab. In the case of transporters, manufacturers, dealers, or driveway operations, the decals need not be permanently affixed but may be temporarily displayed in a visible manner on the exterior sides of the cab. Failure to display the decals in the required locations may subject the vehicle operator to the purchase of a trip permit and a citation. Such motor fuel tax decals shall be issued by the Department and remain valid for a period of 2 calendar years, beginning January 1, 1985. The decals shall expire at the end of the regular 2 year issuance period, with new decals required to be displayed at that time. Beginning January 1, 1993, the motor fuel decals shall be issued by the Department and remain valid for a period of one calendar year. The decals shall expire at the end of the regular one year issuance period, with new decals required to be displayed at that time. Decals shall be no larger than 3 inches by 3 inches. Prior to January 1, 1993, a fee of $7.50 shall be charged by the Department for each decal issued prior to and during the 2 calendar years such decal is valid. Beginning January 1, 1993, a fee of $3.75 shall be charged by the Department for each decal issued prior to and during the calendar year such decal is valid. Beginning January 1, 1994, $3.75 shall be charged for a set of 2 decals. The Department may also prescribe procedures for the issuance of replacement decals, with a maximum fee of $2 for each set of replacement decals issued. The transfer of decals from one vehicle to another vehicle or from one motor carrier to another motor carrier is prohibited. The fees paid for the decals issued under this Section shall be deposited in the Motor Fuel Tax Fund, and may be appropriated to the Department for administration of this Section and enforcement of the tax imposed by Section 13a of this Act.
    To avoid duplicate reporting of mileage and payment of any tax arising therefrom under Section 13a.3 of this Act, the Department shall, by regulation, provide for the allocation between lessors and lessees of the same commercial motor vehicle or vehicles of the responsibility as a motor carrier for the reporting of mileage and the liability for tax arising under Section 13a.3 of this Act, and for registration, furnishing of bond, carrying of motor fuel use tax licenses, and display of decals under this Section, and for all other duties imposed upon motor carriers by this Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-1384, eff. 7-29-10.)